Other Tourney Scores from Saturday (UPDATED AND EXPANDED)


Published on November 24 2012 6:27 pm
Last Updated on November 26 2012 12:23 pm
Written by Greg Sapp


Championship Game--Effingham 52, Newton 27 (Effingham comes back to win the tournament after losing its opening game...the Lady Hearts led 12-6 after one quarter, 28-14 at halftime and 41-21 after three quarters before outscoring Newton 11-6 in the final period...Josie Zerrusen led Effingham with 14 points, Jantzen Michael had 11, Stephanie Robb 8, Caitlin Kaufman 6, Kelli Utz and Lauren Stephenson four each, Morgan Weiser 3, and Maddy Field 2...for Newton, Swingler 7, Jansen and Cartwright 5 each, Wirth 4, Bierman 3, Davidson 2, and Probst 1...Lady Hearts Coach Jeff Schafer said, "It was great for our kids to bounce back and win the tournament after losing our first game to Flora.  We made some good adjustments and played better defensively over the last three games.  We had nine people register an assist and seven more had at least three rebounds.  We need to carry this momentum into the next week as we start the Apollo Conference"...Effingham is now 3-2 on the season)


Teutopolis 52, Red Hill 20

Championship Game--Teutopolis 54, Pinckneyville 28 (Teutopolis' Derek Smith was the tournament MVP, Wooden Shoes' Kyle Pruemer and Jared Waldhoff each made the all-tournament team)


Consolation Championship Game--Altamont 38, Brownstown/St. Elmo 35 (for Altamont: Madison Ohnesorge 15...for Brownstown/St. Elmo: Molly Hill 11)

3rd Place Game--Dieterich 37, Neoga 36 (for Dieterich: Rachel Schmidt 16...for Neoga: Jillian Deters 14)

Championship Game--Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City 36, St. Anthony 31 (for CHBC: Micah Jones 13...for St. Anthony: Makayla Walsh 10)

All-Tournament Team: Micah Jones of CHBC, Candace Niemerg of Dieterich, Jillian Deters of Neoga, Megan Nuxoll of St. Anthony, Ava Paruleski of CHBC, Maddie Butler of Neoga, Makayla Walsh of St. Anthony, Autumn Riley of CHBC, Melissa Bushur of St. Anthony, Maddie Ohnesorge of Altamont, Bethany Oberlink of Brownstown/St. Elmo, Macie Cain of South Central


7th Place Game--Cumberland 54, Martinsville 45 (for Cumberland: Trevor Brumleve 21)

5th Place Game--Chrisman 46, Shiloh 33

3rd Place Game--Palestine/Hutsonville 69, Dieterich 61 (for Dieterich: Dalton Hinterscher 24, Tanner Traub 19, Brandon Westjohn 10)

Newton won the championship with a 63-45 win over Oblong in the title game...Newton now 5-0 on the season...for Newton: Elijah Knepper 17 points and nine rebounds, Luke Stone 16

All-Tournament Team: Lucas Stone of Newton, Chris Hoult of Chrisman, Elijah Knepper of Newton, Collin Meese of Oblong, Trevor Brumleve of Cumberland, Cyrus Fergeson of Shiloh, Zach Mulkins of Martinsville, Dalton Hinterscher of Dieterich, Dylan Davidson of Newton, and MVP Anthony Johnson of Oblong


Teutopolis 50, Belleville East 46 (for T-Town: Cierra Thompson 19, Madeline Hartke 13, Danielle Repking 11)

Championship Game--Carlyle 54, Teutopolis 35 (for T-Town: Madeline Hartke 16, Jessica Schumacher 10)