Wild Events On Fourth Day of Harness Racing at Fair


Published on August 6 2014 10:43 am
Last Updated on August 7 2014 3:35 am
Written by Millie Lange

Incredible Filly (3) hits the finish line to win the Topline 3-Year-Old & Up Pace, Division II with Michael Cox in the bike. The winner is followed by Queen Beatrice, driven by Darla Martin. Wayne Moran photo

ALTAMONT -- What didn't happen at the harness races at the Effingham County Fair Wednesday . . . not much. Two sub-two minute miles were contested, the winningest driver in the fair's history picked up another victory and family traditions were continued.

Cassidy Melloy is carrying on the family tradition in harness racing. Following in the footsteps of her grandfather, grandmother and father, the 23-year-old claimed a victory in the Topline 3-Year-Old & Up Trot.

Melloy took Lw Jaynie Flyer out to the lead and the mare held that lead throughout the entire race. At the half, Lw Jaynie Flyer was flying with a hot 1:00 time. She finished in 2:00 4/5, picking up her 42nd career victory. It was her 192nd career start and the mare has won nearly $150,000 in her career.

Melloy is following in her grandmother's footsteps as Verna Melloy won at the races at the Effingham County Fair in 1970.

Michael Cox, in his first appearance this week at the Effingham County Fair, made his presence known with a victory in the opening harness race of the day, the Topline 2-Year-Old Pace. Cox took Smokin Moni to the lead but Heartland Desire came back to move ahead and held the lead. Smokin Moni then came back around the three quarter mile marker to take the lead again and hit the final turn leading by five lengths. Then it was time for Cox and Smokin Moni to say goodbye, winning the race in 2:05 1/5.

There were two sub-two minute miles on the fast track.

Cox then came back with his second victory in the Topline 3-Year-Old & Up Pace, Division II. Cox guided Incredible Filly out to the lead. The pair then had to fight off a challenge by Darla Martin behind Queen Beatrice down the homestretch. The pair battled side by side before Incredible Filly pulled out the win in 1:59 3/5, going the second half in 58 seconds flat.

Cox also finished second in a close race in the Topline 2-Year-Old Trot behind Jt's Valentine. In that race, Ozone Park went to the early lead and opened it up to five lengths before the quarter. Ozone Park still led at the half but here came Jt's Valentine going to second and moving into the lead. Aka Clyde moved into second. Then it was back and forth down the homestretch with Aka Clyde pulling out the victory to win in 2:07 by two lengths. Aka Clyde was driven to the win by Tom T. Tetrick for his family who owns the two-year-old filly. She has now won four times in eight starts.

In the other sub-two minute mile, Hidalgo's Randall Finn showed he still has what it takes to win at the Effingham County Fair. The winningest driver in the fair's history with 112, Finn was first off to the lead and pushed to a 29 2/5 first quarter. Madoff went 58 2/5 at the half and would finish out with a 1:57 time for the victory.

The final race of the day, the Non-winners $3,500 Lifetime Pace, Shotgun Season stepped out to a quick lead but Big Tan came on to lead. At the quarter mile marker, it was Shotgun Season again in the lead. Shotgun and Big Tan were 1-2. Big Tan then rolled out of the pocket to take the lead at the three quarter mile marker and opened up a three length lead down the stretch to win in 2:01 1/5.

Big Tan is trained and driven by Dirk Simpson, a member of the Illinois Horseman's Association Hall of Fame. He also has 1,000 career wins as a trainer.

Darla Martin leads in the driver's standings with 20 points followed by Freddie Patton Jr. with 19 and Michael Rogers with 14.

Effingham County Fair

Harness Racing

Race One

Topline 2-Year-Old Pace

1. Smokin Moni (Michael Cox), 2. Heartland Desire (Tom T. Tetrick), 3. Gorgeous Dune (Paul Cavett), 4. Smile's Ride (Ray Cash), 5. Sunset Warriorette (Tannor


Time -- :32 1/5, 1:03 1/5, 1:33 1/5, 2:05 1/5.

Race Two

Topline 3-Year-Old & Up Trot

1. Lw Jaynie Flyer (Cassidy Melloy), 2. Skyline Happy (Jared Finn), 3. Old Aunt George (Michael White), 4. Maple Grove Tomm (Freddie Patton Jr.), 5. Balanced

Game (Darla Martin)

Time -- :30, 1:00, 1:31 1/5, 2:00 4/5.

Race Three

Topline 3-Year-Old & Up Pace, Division I

1. Madoff (Randall Finn), 2. Mr Three Quarters (Freddie Patton Jr.), 3. Judson Director (Tom T. Tetrick), 4. Bc's Bad Cat (Tannor Spittler), 5. Everreensduneside (Paul Cavett)

Time -- :29 2/5, :58 2/5, 1:28 1/5, 1:57.

Race Four

Topline 3-Year-Old & Up Pace, Division II

1. Incredible Filly (Michael Cox), 2. Queen Beatrice (Darla Martin), 3. Mighty Oak Perfect (Freddie Patton Jr.), 4. Bc's Southern Bell (Tannor Spittler), 5. Wild Berry Muffler (Jared Finn)

Time -- :30 4/5, 1:01 3/5, 1:30 4/5, 1:59 3/5.

Race Five

Topline 2-Year-Old Trot

1. Aka Clyde (Tom T. Tetrick), 2. Jt's Valentine (Michael Cox), 3. Lonely Alone (Dirk Simpson), 4. Informed Decision (Jared Finn), 5. Ozone Park (Ladarrius Whitaker)

Time -- : 32 2/5, 1:03 4/5, 1:36 2/5, 2:07

Race Six

Non-winners $3,500 Lifetime Pace

1. Big Tan (Dirk Simpson), 2. Shotgun Season (Kyle Husted), 3. Frontier Kate (Phillip Finn Jr.), 4. Pink Shorts (Ray Gash), 5. Bc's Golden Girl (Ladarrius Whitaker)

Time -- :30 2/5, 1:00 1/5, 1:31 1/5, 2:01 1/5.

Thursday, August 7 Entries

Race One

Free For All Trot

Purse: $1,120

1. Queens Lonely Early (Tom T. Tetrick), 2. D Victorslaststand (Stacey De Rousse), 3. Blazinforce Gonspi (Richard S. Finn), 4. St  Ellan's Fire (Ladarrius Whitaker), 5. Super Scot (Merle Finn), 6. Hoosier Jared (Cleon Woods)

Race Two

Non-winners $1,000 Lifetime Trot, Division I

Purse: $1,000

1. Baba Daba Do (Kyle Wilfong), 2. Teela Girl (Stacey De Rousse), 3. Fox Valley Dorcie (Ladarrius Whitaker), 4. Beginning Balance (Kyle Husted), 5. Sister Strange (Michael Cox)

Race Three

Non-winners $1,000 Lifetime Trot, Division II

Purse: $980

1. Kiss My Pizzazzed (Jerome Daniels), 2. Forest Raider (Darla Martin), 3. Valley Photo (Kyle Wilfong), 4. Cantab Ashley (Jared Finn)

Race Four

Non-winners $1,000 Lifetime Pace, Division I

Purse: $1,000

1. Nashville Nasty (Darla Martin), 2. Scott (Kyle Wilfong), 3. Sweet Nadine (Michael Cox), 4. Dakota Run (Michael White), 5. Arlo Gram (Thomas Graham Jr.)

Race Five

Non-winners $1,000 Lifetime Pace, Division II

Purse: $1,000

1. Steph (Stacey De Rousse), 2. Yankee Jazzette (Harold Finn Jr.), 3. Molly Nicole (Chris Brown), 4. Simply Burbon (Jared Finn), 5. Kay's Legend (Kyle Husted)

Race Six

Non-winners $1,000 Lifetime Pace, Division III

Purse: $1,000

1. Dakota Awe (Michael White), 2. Ill Dance All Nite (Kyle Wilfong), 3. Fancy Pants Gram (Thomas Graham Jr.), 4. Dont Be Fussy (Darla Martin), 5. Musta Binda Devil (Michael Cox)

Race Seven

Amateur Driving Race

Purse: $580

1. Wanna Be Wendy (Jessica Anderson), 2. Sleazy Mr D (Anthony Somone), 3. Uneek Shuttle (Gene Birch), 4. Paradise Ragtime Ladavie Spann)