Area Players Named to IBCA 1A/2A All-State Team


Published on March 12 2013 10:25 am
Last Updated on March 12 2013 10:25 am
Written by Millie Lange

Teutopolis High School boys basketball players were among several local athletes to garner honors on the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association 1A/2A All-State Team.

Named to the Third Team from Teutopolis were Derek Smith, a 6-foot-2 1/2 senior, and Kyle Pruemer, a 6-foot-6 senior. Smith averaged around 14 points a game while Pruemer averaged around 11 points as the Wooden Shoes reached the super-sectional only to see the season come to an end.

T-town fell to eventual state champion Harrisburg 77-66, just one step away from reaching the Final Four. Smith tallied 16 and Pruemer 13 in the loss.

Another Teutopolis senior, 6-foot-3 Jared Waldhoff, was placed on the Honorable Mention list. Waldhoff averaged around seven points a contest for the Shoes and scored 17 in the loss to Harrisburg.

Altamont High School's Garrett Ziegler, earned Honorable Mention status. The 6-foot junior will return for the Indians next season after scoring 17 points a contest this year at a guard position.

Special Mention went to Dalton Hinterscher and Dylan Davidson. Hinterscher, a senior, averaged 25 points a contest for Dieterich High School. Davidson, also a senior, averaged a little over 15 points at his guard spot for Newton High School.

Other area players were Aaron Siler (Robinson) who earned First Team honors and Gabe Owens (Woodlawn) and Adam Etter (Breese Mater Dei) who were named to the Third Team.

IBCA 1A/2A All-State Team


Langdon Neal (Francis Parker), Khalil Small (Providence-St. Mel), Makur Puou (Mooseheart), Mark Weems (Seton), Jacoby Posley (Winnebago), Ethan Happ (Rockridge), Brady Sanders (Fieldcrest), Aaron Siler (Robinson), Jared Entwistle (Illini Central), Paxton Harmon (West Hancock), Maruis Bourney (Madison), Jeremy Weeke (Okawville), Tyler Smithpeters (Harrisburg), Capel Henshaw (Harrisburg), Andrew Drone (Gallatin Co.)


Hunter Reine (Roxana), Jacob Johnston (Erie), Will Schneider (Riverton), Tevin King (Providence-St. Mel), Alex Foster (Seton), Matt Reinke (Winnebago), Michael Cameron (Pleasant Plains), Brett Anderson (Newark), Mangisto Deng (Mooseheart), Trevor Lay (Kewanee Wethersfield), Blake Cowden (Tri-Valley), Martel Hunter (Monmouth-Roseville), James Stoll (Northridge), Dalton Shaner (Eastland), Jared McCunn (Eureka)


Liam Farley (Latin), Kamal Shasi (Seton), Cody Hildebrand (Payson Seymour), Bodee Schlipf (El-Paso Gridley), Derek Smith (Teutopolis), Shaquoin Alexander (Hales), Devon Wright (Nokomis), Dylan Smith (Macon Meridian), Gabe Owens (Woodlawn), Brent Schulter (St. Joseph-Ogden), Devantae Price (Egyptian), Tommy Ulinski (North Mac), Matt Hilmes (Carlyle), Kyle Pruemer (Teutopolis), Adam Etter (Breese Mater Dei), Octavious Davis (St. Anne), Brett Benning (Dakota), Max Rothschild (University), Caleb Mowry (Oregon), Bernie Conley (Hinckley-Big Rock), Riley Hall (North Shore)