Teutopolis Only School District in County w/Enough Board Candidates


Published on December 21 2020 5:26 pm
Last Updated on December 21 2020 5:26 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

The Teutopolis Unit 50 school district is the only district in Effingham County with enough candidates to fill the available seats in the April 2021 election.

The filing period concluded Monday evening.

Teutopolis Unit 50 had four people file for full four-year terms: Michael Ritchie, Brandon Pals, Erin Ordner and Courtney Tegeler; as well as two people who filed for a two-year unexpired term: Troy Ozenkoski and Toby McMahon. 

Meanwhile, no other district had enough people file to fill the seats. Two people filed in Dieterich Unit 30: Devin Aherin and Charity Bohnhoff. Two people filed in Effingham Unit 40: Steve Bone and Chad Thompson. Two people filed in Altamont Unit 10: Dale Laue and Alan Shumaker. And no one filed in Beecher City Unit 20.

If no one files as a write-in candidate where there is a lack of candidates, the Board will appoint people to fill the vacancies.

Also, there are two people who filed for the two seats on the Lake Land College Board of Trustees, the incumbents: Tom Wright of Dieterich and Gary Cadwell of Mode.

One person filed for the one seat available on the Effingham Park Board: Kevin Palmer.