Effingham High School Athletes Honored at Banquet


Published on November 13 2013 7:56 am
Last Updated on November 13 2013 10:09 am
Written by Millie Lange

Winning varsity volleyball awards were, left to right, Felicia Totten, Josie Zerrusen, Carly Glaspy, Chandler Ramey and Stephanie Robb.

Effingham High School athletes were honored at a banquet Tuesday evening at the Hearts Rock Cafe. Athletes in the sports of boys and girls golf, girls tennis, boys and girls cross country, soccer and volleyball earned letters and claimed awards.

In girls golf, the Player of the Year was Morgan Wilson. Hope Collier won the Sportsmanship award. Letters went to Wilson, Collier, Kaylee Tonn, Madison Weis and Alex Brummer.

In boys golf, Jackson Wendling and Jake Linders were named Most Valuable Players. Linders also claimed the Most Improved Player award along with Reed Schafer. Callaway Smith was named the Best Underclassman.

Earning letters were Wendling, Linders, Smith, Schafer, Brandon Dahnke and Sean Sandifer.

Girls tennis awards went to Emma Kull for Most Valuable Player, Tori Sims and Ashley Workman for Most Valuable Doubles Players, Kyra Bannister for Most Improved Player, Kaylee Fred for Most Supportive Team Player and Megan Allen won the Holly Nosbisch Sportsmanship Award.

Letterwinners were Kull, Sims, Workman, Fred, Allen, Savannah Blake, Kyra Bannister and Olivia Miller.

In cross country, winning boys awards were Collin Hecht (The Rock), C.J. Schmidt (Most Improved), Leighton Lark (Sportsmanship), Jacob Donaldson (Top Newcomer) and Josh McCammon (Most Valuable Player).

Winning cross country girls awards were Jenna Bingham (Most Valuable Runner), Jade Spencer (Top Newcomer), Shayna Phillips (The Rock), Madi Woelfer (Most Improved) and Jaclyn Steppe (Sportsmanship).

Letterwinners were Gary Damron, Lark (captain), Kennan Mahaffey, Donaldson, Hecht, McCammon, Eli Buhrmann, Schmidt, Bingham (captain), Jaclyn Steppe, Haley Fatheree, Woelfer, Jami Swan, Kelly Keitel and Phillips.

Soccer awards were presented to Jacob Gadberry (Defensive), Michael Carie (Offensive), Parth Maheshwari (Most Improved), Phil Knight (Most Valuable Player), Austin Wenthe (Heart of the Team), Sean Zerrusen (Most Valuable Underclassman), Synne Christiansen (JV Offensive) and Brady Scott (JV Defensive, JV Heart of the Team).

Winning letters were Tyler Katz, P. Knight, Carie, Andrew Knight, Christiansen, Wenthe, Jason Pike, Dalton Steele, Zerrusen, Austin Robertson, Andrew Bingham, Gadberry, Maheshwari, Nate Jakubowski, Stephanie Lopez, Logan Weis, Trent Yocum and Frank Kasdorf.

Abbey Meinhart won the Most Improved freshman award in volleyball, Victoria Garren the freshman Hustle award, Rachel Weis the junior varsity Serving award, Katie Roberts the junior varsity Hitting award and Meghann Pruemer the junior varsity Sportsmanship award.

Winning varsity awards were Stephanie Robb the Most Valuable Player, the Most Aces and the Blocking awards, Chandler Ramey the Hitting award, Felicia Totten Most Assists award, Josie Zerrusen Most Digs award and Carly Glaspy the Sportsmanship award.

Letters went to Glasby, Robb, Totten, Ramey, Zerrusen, Bethany Donaldson, Katie Bloemker, Brittany Beals, Shelby Nunamaker and Jennifer Fred.


Girls golf awards went to, left to right, Hope Collier and Morgan Wilson.

Claiming boys golf awards were, left to right, Reed Schafer, Jackson Wendling, Jacob Linders and Callaway Smith.

Winning tennis awards at Effingham High School were, left to right, Tori Sims, Kaylee Fred, Megan Allen, Kyra Bannister and Emma Kull.

Effingham High School's cross country awards went to, front row, left to right, CJ Schmidt, Josh McCammon, Collin Hecht, Jenna Bingham and Jade Spencer. Back row, left to right, Jacob Donaldson, Leighton Lark, Jaclyn Steppe, Madi Woelfer and Shayna Phillips.

Soccer awards at Effingham High School went to left, to right, Sean Zerrusen, Jacob Gadberry, Phil Knight, Brady Scott, Michael Carie, Austin Wenthe, Synne Christiansen and Parth Maheshwari.

Freshman/junior varsity volleyball award winners were, left to right, Victoria Garren, Abbey Meinhart, Katie Roberts, Meghann Pruemer and Rachel Weis.