EIU Fall Commencement is Saturday


Published on December 12 2012 10:47 am
Last Updated on July 14 2013 12:07 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

Nearly 500 graduates plan to participate in Eastern Illinois University's Fall 2012 commencement ceremonies, scheduled to take place Saturday, Dec. 15, in Lantz Arena. Ceremonies will take place at 10 a.m. and 1 p.m.  Guest tickets are required for admission.

Students from the Lumpkin College of Business and Applied Sciences and the College of Arts and Humanities will march in the morning ceremony, while students from the College of Education and Professional Studies, the College of Sciences and the School of Continuing Education (Bachelor of Arts in General Studies Degree) will march in the afternoon.  Graduate students will march with their respective colleges.

President William L. Perry will preside over the ceremonies.  Music will be provided by the EIU Wind Symphony.

Victoria Markley, an EIU alumna who has made a career as an information technology consultant, will present the “Charge to the Class” during both ceremonies.  Also addressing graduates will be Faculty Senate Chairperson Andrew S. Methven and Student Body President Kaci L. Abolt.

Representing Eastern's Board of Trustees will be Joseph R. Dively of Charleston at 10 a.m. and Robert D. Webb of Mattoon at 1 p.m.

Traditionally, a commencement marshal leads the commencement procession while carrying the university mace, a symbol of honor accorded a faculty member.  The commencement marshal for the 10 a.m. ceremony will be Lynne E. Curry, who, as a professor of history, will represent the Graduate School.  Representing the School of Continuing Education at 1 p.m. will be Carrie M. Dale, associate professor of early childhood, elementary and middle level education.

An EIU tradition also allows faculty members the honor of carrying the college banner for his/her college during the procession.

This semester’s faculty marshals for the morning ceremony are Melody L. Wollan, graduate coordinator, School of Business, representing the Graduate School and the Lumpkin College of Business and Applied Sciences; Karen S. Drage, associate professor, School of Technology, representing the LCBAS; Matthew J. Gill, graduate coordinator, communication studies, representing the Graduate School and the College of Arts and Humanities; and Terri L. Johnson, associate professor, journalism, representing the CAH.

This year's faculty marshals for the afternoon ceremony are Christina R. Edmonds-Behrend, assistant professor, special education, representing the Graduate School and the College of Education and Professional Studies; Dawn M. VanGunten, professor, secondary education and foundations, representing the CEPS; Wesley Allan, graduate coordinator, psychology, representing the Graduate School and the College of Sciences; Daniel J. Sheeran, chair and associate professor, chemistry, representing the COS; and Teresa Britton, professor, philosophy, representing the School of Continuing Education.

Lena F. Elmuti, a biological sciences and chemistry major from Charleston, will serve as Honors College banner marshal during both ceremonies.

Additionally, William E. Addison, who was selected as EIU’s 2012 Luis Clay Mendez Distinguished Service Award recipient for his contributions to the university, the field of psychology and the local community, will be formally recognized at Saturday’s 1 p.m. ceremony.  The award honors the memory of Mendez, an EIU professor of Spanish who died in 2003.