Tom Wright Named Outstanding Philanthropist


Published on October 29 2012 6:24 am
Last Updated on July 14 2013 12:07 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Michael Wall, Executive Director of Fund Development at St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital. Tom Wright, Scott Lensink, Chair of Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation, Joedy Hightower, President/CEO of Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation.


Tom Wright of Dieterich has been selected as the 2012 recipient of the Richard C. Siemer Outstanding Philanthropist award by the Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation.  The community foundation sponsors the award each year to celebrate National Community Foundations Week in November. The award was presented at the foundation’s dinner event on October 27th at the Keller Convention Center in Effingham.

The nomination for Tom Wright was submitted by Michael Wall, Executive Director of Fund Development at St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital.

“Tom’s investment of time, resources and leadership has made a significant impact upon the footprint of St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital and to the Friends of St. Anthony’s.  His volunteer leadership has significantly benefitted the residents of our community and surrounding areas,” said Wall.

Tom’s history of service to the hospital includes nine years on the Friends of St. Anthony’s Board from 2002 to 2011; five out of nine years as Friends of St. Anthony’s chairperson; board member and chairperson of St. Anthony’s Memorial Hospital Advisory Board; Friends of St. Anthony’s Hope & Healing Campaign Chairperson from 2008 to 2011, during which a 2.8 million dollar fundraiser was initiated to support the Center for Advanced Imaging.

Tom’s philanthropic credentials also extend beyond his involvement with St. Anthony’s.  He is currently president of the Lake Land College Foundation Board of Directors, and member of the Board of Directors of the Cross at the Crossroads Foundation, Effingham County 911 Board and the Effingham County Economic Development Board.  In his hometown Tom serves on the Board of Directors of the Dieterich Community Development Corporation; he is a member of the Dieterich Ruritan Club, Dieterich S.O.S., and Dieterich Community Medical Center Rural Health Clinic Committee and president of Grace Lutheran Church.  He has also served on the Board of Directors of the Effingham County Chamber of Commerce and Effingham County YMCA.  Most recently, Tom was awarded the East Central Illinois Development Corporation’s (ECIDC) Outstanding Leadership in Community and Economic Development Award in April of this year.

Tom has also contributed financially to a number of funds managed by the Effingham County Community Foundation including the Effingham County CEO Class, the CEO Alumni Internship Program, Lake Sara Forever Foundation and the Dieterich Community Educational Endowment.

According to Joedy Hightower, President/CEO of the Southeastern Illinois Community Foundation, nominees for the award are evaluated on four key criteria:  financial contributions to causes and non-profit organizations; innovation and creativity in the causes supported; description of the nominee’s work in encouraging and motivating others to take leadership roles toward philanthropy and community involvement; and impact of the nominee’s gifts and work in the organizations supported.  “We congratulate Tom on the extraordinary example he sets for all of us.  His record of exceptional generosity and leadership demonstrates the amazing civic and charitable responsibility we are blessed with in this region,” said Hightower.