Shoes Win Tennis Sectional, Players, EHS Doubles Team To State


Published on May 20 2019 9:55 am
Last Updated on May 20 2019 10:43 am
Written by Millie Lange

Teutopolis High School shows off its Effingham Sectional championship trophy. Two Wooden Shoes doubles team and a singles player advances to the State Tennis Tournament.

Teutopolis High School claimed the Effingham Tennis Sectional championship Saturday with 28 points followed by Olney 21, Effingham 13, Robionson 12, Casey-Westfield 8, Newton 8, Flora 6, Effingham St. Anthony 4, Greenville 2 and Shelbyville 2.

The top four singles players and top four doubles teams head to the State Tennis Tournament this Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Competing for Teutopolis will be Seth Probst (senior) and Jacob Pals (junior) and Mitchell Deters (senior) and Alex Deters (junior) in doubles play and Kyele Mossman (senior) in singles action. Probst and Pals took first place while the two Deters finished second to their teammates.

Effingham's doubles team of Ben Donsach (junior) and Parker Siner (junior) will compete as a doubles team. The pair finished third.

Also advancing in singles were Kaden Buchanan (junior) from Robinson, Austin Atwood (senior) from Olney and Mason Beckham (junior) from Flora.

The other doubles team advancing was Olney's Jack Bettis (junior) and Jacob Taylor (sophomore).

Hersey High School in Arlington Heights will be the tournament center.

The state tourney starts Thursday at 9 a.m. with the first and second championship rounds and the first and second round of the consolation feed-in.

On Friday, the third and quarterfinal championship rounds and the third, fourth and fifth rounds of the consolation feed-in will be played.

On Saturday, the semifinal and final championship rounds and the quarter, semi and final consolation feed-in rounds will be played.

Effingham Sectional

Team Scores -- Teutopolis (TT) 28, Olney (O) 21, Effingham (E) 13, Robinson (R) 12, Casey-Westfield (CW) 8, Newton (N) 8, Flora (F) 6, St. Anthony (SA) 4, Greenville (G) 2, Shelbyville (S) 2


First Round

Justin Zumbahlen (N) defeated Collin Moseley (Flora), 6-0, 6-0

Cole Stanfield (E) defeated Clint Apke (TT), 6-2, 7-5

Dylan Ochs (N) defeated Cainan Grove (G), 7-6(4), 4-6, 7-5

Second Round

Kyele Mossman (TT) defeated Corban Aultman (S), 6-0, 6-0

Dawson Dallape (CW) defeated Lucas Hagler (E), 1-6, 6-4, 6-1

Austin Atwood (O) defeated Daniel Kessler (G), 6-0, 6-0

Lucas Blunier (R) defeated Zumbahlen (N), 6-1, 7-5

Lucas Hunt (CW) defeated Stanfield (E), 6-4, 6-2

Ochs (N) defeated Mason Beckham (F), 7-5, 6-2

Reid Snyder (O) defeated Will Leach (S), 7-6(3), 6-4

Kaden Buchanan (R) defeated Michael Kaldas (SA), 6-0, 6-1

Third Round

Mossman (TT) defeated Dallape (CW), 6-0, 6-0

Atwood (O) defeated Blunier (R), 6-1, 7-5

Beckham (F) defeated Hunt (CW), 7-5, 6-1

Buchanan (R) defeated Snyder (O), 6-0, 6-1

Fourth Round

Mossman (TT) defeated Atwood (O), 6-1, 6-1

Buchanan (R) defeated Beckham (F), 6-0, 6-1

Third Place

Atwood (O) defeated Beckham (F), 6-7(3), 6-3, 6-1


Mossman (TT) defeated Buchanan (R), 6-2, 6-1


First Round

Cade McDowell-Jaedyn Moyes (O) defeated Will Hawkins-Brendan Inboden (R), 6-2, 6-4

Evan Oakley-Christian Earth (G) defeated Luke Richards-Noah Livingston (CW), 6-3, 6-1

Matthew Grabb-Cole Evans (S) defeated Nate Freeman-Alex Lana (F), 7-5, 6-2

Second Round

Jacob Pals-Seth Probst (TT) defeated Chris Watterson-Seth Owens (G), 6-0, 6-3

Zach Dust-Sam Hemrich (N) defeated Joel Bleskey-Wade Johnston (S), 6-0, 6-0

Ben Donsbach-Parker Siner (E) defeated Trey Huisinga-Gabriel Cochonour (CW), 6-2, 5-7, 6-2

McDowell-Moyes (O) defeated Matthew Suntrup-Carter Collins (F) , 7-6(6), 6-3

Oakley-Earth (G) defeated Linders-Barr (E), 6-1, 6-3

Alex Deters-Mitchell Deters (TT) defeated Grabb-Evans, 6-0, 6-1

Will Kabbes-Henry Kemme (SA) defeated Logan Brewer-Greg Sandschafer (N), 6-0 6-1

Jack Bettis-Jacob Taylor (O) defeated Josh Rosborough-Ely Parker (R), 6-1, 6-0

Third Round

Pals-Probst (TT) defeated Dust-Hemrich (E), 6-1, 6-0

Donsbach-Siner (E) defeated McDowell-Moyes (O), 6-4, 6-2

A. Deters-M. Deters (TT) defeated Linders-Barr (E), 6-0, 4-6, 6-0

Bettis-Taylor (O) defeated Kabbes-Kemme (SA), 6-2, 6-0

Fourth Round

Pals-Probst (TT) defeated Donsbach-Siner (E), 6-4, 6-2

A. Deters-M.Deters (TT) defeated Bettis-Taylor (O), 7-5, 6-1

Third Place

Donsbach-Siner (E) defeated Bettis-Taylor (O), 7-5, 6-1


Pals-Probst (TT) defeated A. Deters-M. Deters (TT), 6-2, 6-1

Finishing third and advancing to the State Tennis Tournament in doubles were Effingham's Ben Donsbach and Parker Siner.