St. A, EHS, T-town, Newton Tennis Players Advance to State


Published on October 15 2018 9:21 am
Last Updated on October 16 2018 6:20 am
Written by Millie Lange

Coach Kaye Kimpling with Teutopolis High School team members, left to right, Diana Mossman, Julia Hardiek, Nicole Deters, Logan Blankenship, Macy Probst, and Alli Brumleve won the Class 1A St. Anthony Tennis Sectional during the weekend.


Teutopolis High School won the championship of the Effingham St. Anthony Girls Tennis Sectional during the weekend.

The Wooden Shoes scored 22 points followed by St. Anthony 22, Effingham 18, Mattoon 12, Robinson 12, Newton 8, Charleston 4, Paris 4, Casey-Westfield 0 and Shelbyville 0. Action took place at Community Park, Hendelmeyer Park and Evergreen Hollow Park.

In singles play, St. Anthony's Emilee Mossman won the championship followed by Jacelyn Street of Newton, Diana Mossman of Teutopolis and Kyah Eastin of Mattoon. Those four advance in singles play to State.

In doubles action, Effingham's Chloe Funneman and Lauryn Douthit claimed the doubles title followed by Allison Kowalke and Averee Greene of St. Anthony, Alli Brumleve and Macy Probst of Teutopolis and Nicole Deters and Juila Hardiek of Teutopolis. The top four advance to State.

The singles and doubles players will travel to the Buffalo Grove area to compete in the Class 1A State Tournament Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Class 1A St. Anthony Sectional


First Round

Logan Blankenship (Teutopolis) defeated Emma Campbell (Paris), 6-3, 6-1

Mia Hargis (Robinson) defeated Mattie Smothers (Shelbyville), 6-1, 6-1

Amari Brown (Mattoon) defeated Katherine Martin (Shelbyville), 6-0, 6-1

Jessica Cook (SA) defeated Riley Arend (E), 6-2, 6-1

Second Round

Emilee Mossman (SA) defeated Mady Emmerich (Newton), 6-0, 6-0

Riley Seachrist (E) defeated Emily Sherwood (CW), 6-2, 6-1

Kyah Eastin (Mattoon) defeated Logan Blankenship (TT), 6-4, 6-1

Rachel Tomas (C) defeated Mia Haris (Robinson), 6-3, 6-8

Amari Brown (M) defeated Kaylee Landsaw (P), 7-5, 3-6, 7-6(4)

Diana Mossman (TT) defeated Jessica Cook (SA), 6-0, 6-0

Sarah Staller (R) defeated Sydnie Hall (CW), 6-1, 6-2

Jaelyn Street (N) defeated Bernie Jackson (C), 6-0, 6-0


Emilee Mossman (SA) defeated Riley Seachrist (E), 6-0, 6-0

Kyah Eastin (M) defeated Rachel Thomas (C), 6-0, 6-3

Diana Mossman (TT) defeated Amari Brown (M), 6-1, 6-2

Jacelyn Street (N) defeated Sarah Staller (R), 6-0, 6-1


Emilee Mossman (SA) defeated Kyah Eastin (M), 6-0, 6-0

Jacelyn Street (M) defeated Diana Mossman (TT), 6-0, 6-2


Emilee Mossman (SA) defeated Jacelyn Street (N), 6-0, 6-2

Third Place

Diana Mossman (TT) defeated Kyah Eastin (M), 6-0, 6-2


First Round

Berty-Clements (R) defeated Griffith-Zumbahlen (N), 6-2, 6-3

Kull-Schaefer (E) defeated Gill-Miller (SV), 6-1, 6-0

Dasenbrock-Willenborg (SA) defeated Owens-Geer (SV), 6-0, 6-0

Niemerg-Hoene (M) defeated Sibenaller-Hackett (C), 6-1, 6-3

Second Round

Brumleve-Probst (TT) defeated Stortzum-Borntrager (M), 6-0, 6-0

Orlie-Rudibaugh (C) defeated Isaf-Noel (P), 6-2, 6-2

Kowalke-Greene (SA) defeated Berty-Clements (R), 6-0, 6-2

Kull-Schafer (E) defeated Richardson-Squires (C), 7-6, (7-4), 7-6 (8-6)

Hardiek-Deters (TT) defeated Dasenbrock-Willenborg (SA), 6-1, 6-0

Hardiek-Deters (TT) defeated Goodman-Schalburg (R), 6-2, 6-2

Funneman-Douthit (E) defeated Martin-Mathews (P), 6-2, 6-2


Brumleve-Probst (TT) defeated Orlik-Rudibaugh (C), 6-0, 6-3

Kowalke-Greene (SA) defeated Kull-Schafer (E), 6-4, 6-0

Hardiek-Deters (TT) defeated Goodman-Schalburg (R), 6-2 ,6-2

Funneman-Douthit (E) defeated Martin-Mathews (P), 6-2, 6-2


Kowalke-Greene (SA) defeated Brumleve-Probst (TT), 6-4, 6-4

Funneman-Douthit (E) defeated Hardiek-Deters (TT), 6-3, 6-2

Championship -- Funneman-Douthit (E) defeated Kowalke-Greene (SA), 6-7 (0-7), 7-6 (7-2), 7-5

Third Place -- Brumleve-Probst (TT) defeated Hardiek-Deters (TT), 6-4, 6-3