LSU Downs Clemson In National Championship Game


Published on January 14 2020 6:39 am
Last Updated on January 16 2020 6:08 am

Top-ranked LSU downed Number 3 Clemson 42-25 in the College Football Playoff national championship game Monday night to win their first national title since 2007, completing an undefeated season before home state fans in New Orleans' Superdome.


Senior quarterback Joe Burrow, this year's Heisman Trophy winner, threw five touchdown passes and ran for another score. His five TD passes and 463 yards passing were the most for a BCS or College Football Playoff title game, as were his six total touchdowns. He also set a new FBS single-season record with 65 touchdowns, topping the old one of 63.