Junior High Sectionals -- Oct. 7


Published on October 9 2017 9:06 am
Last Updated on October 9 2017 1:51 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Members of the St. Anthony cross country team advancing to State were, left to right, Emma Helmink, Sacred Heart; Evie Strullmyer, Allison Geen, Riley Guy, Ellie Wegman, Anna Faber and Grace Niebrugge.

Effingham St. Anthony/Sacred Heart advanced both a boys and a girls team to the Class 1A State Cross Country Meets.

St. Anthony claimed the championship of the Findlay Okaw Valley boys sectional followed in the top three by Decatur Our Lady of Lourdes and Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City.

Members of the St. Anthony team include Aidan Braunecker, Giovanni Bucio, Kevin Canalas-Gonzalez, Ivan Dong, Griffen Elder, Drew Hanfland, Max Sager, George Scheidemantel, Conlan Walsh and Nick Wiedman.

Members of the Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City team are Jason Baylis, Beau Doedtman, Gage Lorton, Daniel Lucas, Zander Merrifield, Bryor Rhodes, Kenny Robbins, Jadan Robertson and Jarrett Thompson.

In the girls' meet, Casey-Westfield was the team champion followed by St. Anthony and Decatur Our Lady of Lourdes.

Members of the St. Anthony girls team advancing are Abby Dietzen, Anna Faber, Allison Geen, Riley Guy, Emma Hardiek, Grace Niebrugge, Sophia Seagle, Evie Strullmyer and Ellie Wegman.

Advancing as an individual was Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City's Haley Bartels.

In the Class 2A boys sectional at Shelbyville's Forest Park, Shelbyville Moulton was the team champion followed by Tolono Unity and Jasper County in the top three.

Jasper County advances and team members include Clay Bergbower, Ian Fehrenbacher, Isaac Flowers, Owen Mahaffey, Ben Meinhart, Caden Nichols, Brock Probst, Carder Reich, Gage Reynolds and Luke Weber.

Advancing as an individual was Cumberland's Wiley Peters.

The Class 1A State Cross Country Meets are scheduled for Saturday. The Class 1A girls race will be held at 9:30 a.m. followed by the boys race at 10:15 a.m. The Class 2A girls race begins at 11 a.m. with the boys race at 11:45 a.m. The Class 3A girls race begins at 12:30 p.m. with the boys race at 1:15 p.m.

Boys headed to State for St. Anthony/Sacred Heart are, left to right Ivan Dong, Max Sager, George Scheidemantel, Drew Hanfland (SH), Nick Wiedman (SH), Kevin Canales-Gonzales, Conlan Walsh, Griffen Elder and Giovanni Bucio (SH).