St. Anthony Wins Regional Cross Country Title, Area Girls Roundup


Published on October 24 2016 7:22 am
Last Updated on October 24 2016 9:46 am
Written by Millie Lange

ROBINSON -- Effingham St. Anthony High School captured the team championship of the Class 1A Robinson Girls Cross Country Regional Saturday.

Anna Sophia Keller won the meet for the Bulldogs with a time of 17:30.00. The Bulldogs tallied 44 points followed by Teutopolis 67, Paris 87, Lawrenceville 98, Cumberland 129, Marshall 165, Robinson 173, Mount Carmel 177 and Newton 216.

The top seven teams and top five individuals not members of a qualfying team advanced to sectional action this coming Saturday at St. Anthony at 10 a.m.

Competing for St. Anthony, along with Keller, were Kaitlyn Zeller 12th in 21:12, Katherine Slaughter 13th in 21:14, Kendall Fonner 15th in 21:31, Kristin Slaughter 18th in 21:36 and Audrey Niebrugge 31st in 22:53.

Advancing for Teutopolis were Kara Weichman second in 19:18, Rebecca Habing sixth in 20:53, Jenelle Vogt 17th in 21:33, Abby Bloemer 19th in 21:37, Marianna Hemmen 23rd in 21:56, Raegan Drees 38th in 24:28 and Ashley Thompson 51st in 26:27.

Advancing for Cumberland were Victoria Aull eighth in 20:57, Breanne Edwards 11th in 21:07, Elise Hemmen 28th in 22:38, Zoe Marti 34th in 23:35 and Leah Brown 48th in 25:54.

Dieterich's Gracie Britton advanced as an individual in 25th place with a time of 21:54. Also competing but not advancing for the Movin' Maroons were Kaitlyn Bloemer 44th in 24:11.98, Andrea Bierman 51st in 25:05.39 and  Mikala Klay 71st in 38:06.82.

Competing for Altamont but not advancing were Adrianna Suckow 37th in 23:02.73 and McKenzie Goldstein 65th in 28:18.41.

Newton had runners taking part in the regional but none advanced. Those were Alexis Bell 42nd in 24:05.28, Denae Cantrell 50th in 24:56.73, Mya Kuhn 52nd in 25:08.72, Veronica Ochs 54th in 25:13.73, Destiny Larrison 55th in 25:44.20, Lauren Probst 63rd in 28;13.98 and Miranda Clinton 67th in 30:33.95.

North Clay (Louisville) also had runners competing but did not advance. Those were Madison Healy 68th in 31:58.54, Hope Pride 69th in 32:39.77 and Maleah Holkenbrink 70th in 34:35.53.


At Carlinville

Litchfield captured the championship of the Class 1A Carlinville Regional with 66 points followed by Decatur St. Teresa 69, Shelbyville 72, Carlinville 123, Maroa-Forsyth 134, Neoga 142, Clinton 146, Moweaqua Central A&M 200, Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City 229, Staunton 264, Argenta-Oreana 272 and Piasa Southwestern 313.

Pana's Claudia Magnussen won the individual title with a time of 17:38.

Advancing were the top seven teams including Neoga. Advancing for the Indians were Emmalyn Walk eighth in 19:24, Courtney Reel 19th in 20:15, Cheyenne Curry 23rd in 20:29, Rachel  Ewing 44th in 22:44, Alison Kingery 48th in 22:52, Makenzie Hill 50th in 23:18 and Olivia Holt 62nd in 24:19.

Also advancing individually was Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City's Morgan Nohren 24th in 20:21. Also competing for the Hornets but not advancing were Jaelyn Robertson 29th in 20:40.49, Martina Rhoades 41st in 21:51.99, Darby Moon 80th in 26:17.55, Tabitha Endsley 82nd in 26:36.40, Madison Blaine 84th in 26:53.02 and  Chase Figueroa 88th in 27:40.08.

Those advancing will compete in the Effingham St. Anthony Sectional Saturday at 10 a.m.


At Danville

Effingham High School's Miranda Fox and Alexis Monnet advanced from the Class 2A Danville Regional Saturday.

Urbana won the team title with 69 points followed by Mattoon 77, Urbana University 105, Charleston 130, Danville 143, Mount Zion 151, Olney 166, Salem 174, Effingham 197, Champaign Central 198 and Champaign Centennial 254.

Urbana University's Annemarie Michael captured first place with a time of 18:11.71.

Fox finished ninth for the Hearts in 19:36 while Monnet was 12th in 19:44. Also competing for the Hearts but not advancing were Meredith Kull 51st in 22:26.68, Hope Monnet 58th in 23:31.45, Brianna Schmidt 67th in 24:22.81, Ashlyn Hanks 69th in 24:37.73 and Madison Tilford 75th in 25:07.65.

The EHS duo will advance to the Decatur MacArthur Sectional Saturday at Hickory Point Golf course at 10 a.m.