St. Anthony, Centralia Final Night Winners at Effingham Girls Round Robin


Published on January 25 2014 10:42 am
Last Updated on January 25 2014 10:42 am
Written by Greg Sapp

The St. Anthony Lady Bulldogs and the Centralia Annies posted wins on the final night of this season's Effingham Girls Round Robin Tournament Friday night.

St. Anthony defeated Dieterich 60-34 in the opener, while Centralia got by Neoga 45-42 in the other contest.

The Bulldogs finally got the lid off the basket in this tournament, scoring 21 points in both the second and the fourth quarters on their way to the big win.  St. Anthony led 12-6 after one quarter, 33-13 at halftime and 39-20 after three quarters before outpointing Dieterich 21-14 in the final stanza.

Kate Richards scored 18 points to lead St. Anthony while Megan Nuxoll added 14 points.  Also for St. Anthony: Makayla Walsh nine, Lauren Wendt seven, Maggie Mumm six, and Kyla Burton, Hunter Niebrugge and Maddie Schuette two points each.  

Courtney Flach scored 13 points to pace Dieterich, now 5-12 on the season, while Mallorie Vahling added 11 points.  Also for Dieterich: Hannah Ruholl four, and Elizabeth Abbott, Rachel Schmidt and Kallee Rae Heuerman two each.  

St. Anthony improved to 14-7 on the season.


The second contest was close throughout.  Centralia was in front 12-7 after one quarter, but Neoga pulled to within 23-22 at halftime.  Centralia was up 33-30 after three quarters and each team scored 12 points in the final period to leave the Annies with a three-point win.

E.C. Thies and Jillian Deters each scored 13 points to lead Neoga, while Madison Butler scored eight points, Jaycie Roy six, Olivia Ott two. 

Neoga slipped to 15-8 on the season.


Effingham won the tournament with a 4-0 record, Centralia went 3-1 to finish second, Neoga was third at 2-2, St. Anthony fourth at 1-3 and Dieterich finished fifth.

The All-Tournament Team includes Jantzen Michael, Caitlin Kaufman and Josie Zerrusen of Effingham, Kate Richards and Megan Nuxoll of St. Anthony, Courtney Flach and Mallorie Vahling of Dieterich, Madison Butler and Jillian Deters of Neoga, and Abbey Holtkamp and Holly Mays of Centralia.

The tournament will be drastically different next season since St. Anthony, Neoga and Dieterich will not be available, as the Girls NTC Tournament is being moved from the start of the season to a mid-January slot.