Ron Reed, Kent Niebrugge Named to IBCA Hall of Fame


Published on December 8 2020 8:54 am
Last Updated on December 8 2020 12:43 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Former Effingham High School boys basketball coach Ron Reed and Teutopolis Junior High Coach Kent Niebrugge have been named to the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

They both will be welcomed as members of the Hall of Fame Class of 2021.

Reed coached at Effingham from the 2003-04 season through the 2016-17 season. His 15 year total at EHS was 268 wins and 154 losses.

He came to EHS from a two-year stint at Lawrenceville where he went 26-28. He had also coached at North Clay (Louisville), the first time 1988-89 and 1989-90 where he was 42-10 and the second time from the 1992-93 season through the 1999-2000 season where he was 143-75. Reed also had coached at Harrisburg two years in 1990-91 and 1991-92 where he was 9-40.

Reed finished his coaching career with 488 victories and 307 losses in 29 years.

Kent Niebrugge was named to the Hall of Fame for coaching junior high boys basketball at Teutopolis Junior High School.

Plans are still underway for the 40th annual Hall of Fame Induction in the spring.

The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) was featured prominently among the 2021 Illinois Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA) Hall of Fame class when the IBCA revealed its latest honorees.

Current IHSA Associate Executive Director Kurt Gibson and recently retired IHSA Assistant Executive Director Scott Johnson were both named Hall of Fame inductees under the IBCA’s Friends of Basketball category. In addition, the IHSA was named one of the IBCA’s Organizations of the Year.

“The IHSA has been the foundation of our state’s high school sports and activities for 120 years,” said IBCA Executive Director Jim Tracy. “It takes many dedicated individuals working together and contributing many hours to make this type of organization this successful. Kurt and Scott's contributions in honoring and celebrating our rich basketball history have been extraordinary and are enjoyed by many generations in Illinois.

The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame was founded in 1973 to honor the best and most influential players, teams, coaches, media, officials, and friends of basketball in Illinois history. The Hall of Fame induction festivities typically occur during a ceremony at Illinois State University each spring. The 2020 ceremony was postponed due to COVID-19, with 2021 plans currently on hold. The IBCA hopes to hold a joint ceremony combining the 2020 and 2021 classes in the spring or summer of 2021.

“We are appreciative of the recognition and support provided by our friends at the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association,” said IHSA Executive Director Craig Anderson. “Kurt and Scott have both made incredible contributions to the sport of high school basketball in Illinois throughout their decorated careers. We are also grateful for the organizational honor recognizing the Association’s efforts as a whole as we have navigated this extraordinary school year.”

Also named in the media category is former Mattoon Journal Gazette's Mike Monahan.