All-Stars Claim Second Place


Published on July 24 2012 9:57 am
Last Updated on July 24 2012 9:57 am
Written by Millie Lange

The 12U Effingham County All-Stars claimed second place honors in the Cal Ripken State Tournament in Mattoon over the weekend and earned a berth in the Ohio Valley Tournament held in Elizabethtown, Kentucky Wednesday July 25 through Sunday, July 29.

Effingham clinched a playoff spot Saturday night when it defeated Charleston 3-2, but fell to Mattoon 6-4 Sunday in the championship game.

Three Effingham All-Stars, Ryan Sandifer, Cody Jansen and Brett Koester were honored at the conclusion of the tournament by being named to the Illinois State All Tournament Team. The remaining 12-year-old players making the trip to Kentucky are Mason Hull, Drew Gibson, Lee Hardiek, Cody Grove, Ryan Matheny, Callaway Campton, Alec Morrissey, Adam Levitt and Jason Devore.