Plan Commission Approves Site Plans for Two Restaurants


Published on May 14 2024 7:03 pm
Last Updated on May 14 2024 7:03 pm
Written by Greg Sapp


Site plans were approved for two restaurants in Effingham Tuesday by the City Plan Commission.

One site plan is for Gabby Goat, which will replace their existing structure with a new restaurant to the south and east. The project is necessitated by the Fayette Avenue reconstruction project. 

City Planner Greg Koester said the new 13,692 square foot structure will also feature some open area seating. Koester said the new building will be twice the size of the existing structure.

Commission members also recommended approval by the City Council of a plat of the Gabby Goat Subdivision. While IDOT is acquiring current Gabby Goat property, the Goat is acquiring some of the former Boos Block Company land now owned by the City.

The Plan Commission also approved a site plan of an Indian restaurant operated by Parjit Singh at 1601 West Evergreen Avenue, east of Flying J. The restaurant will be 7,350 square feet in size.

Commission members also recommended the City Council approve a plat of a sixth addition to Effingham Business Park. The addition involves an easterly extension of McGrath Avenue and the land between McGrath and Stevens Avenues.

Also recommended for approval is Wilson Subdivision, off East Route 33 near Salt Creek on the southeast edge of Effingham. A developer wants to build a house on a remaining lot and then sell off an existing house and adjoining land. The Commission also voted to recommend the Council rezone the land in question from non-urban to single-family residential. 

There was discussion of a tower use permit on property south and west of Hardee's Restaurant and Diesel Doctor. There was no vote on the issue.

The Plan Commission also held its annual reorganization. Brian Hayes was re-elected Chairman, while Mark Thies was elected Vice-Chairman. There was also recognition of Dave Storm, who asked not to be re-appointed to the Commission after 17 years' service. Storm was originally named to the Commission by former mayor Bob Utz. 

Commission members welcomed Brian Meyers to replace Storm.

Commissioners Clint Spruell, Mark Thies and Michael McHugh were not present for the meeting.