Teutopolis, Montrose Firefighters Awarded Medals of Honor


Published on May 14 2024 4:48 pm
Last Updated on May 14 2024 4:48 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

Five local firefighters were recognized Tuesday in Springfield with Medals of Honor for going above and beyond their duties at the 31st Annual Fallen Firefighter Memorial and Medal of Honor Ceremony.

The rainy weather caused all of the activities to be relocated to the Bank of Springfield Center.

The Medals of Honor presented to the local firefighters was the result of their actions in September of 2023 following an anhydrous release as the result of a crash on the east edge of Teutopolis. Five people died, 11 others were injured, and half the village of Teutopolis was evacuated for 24 hours.

Those honored include Lieutenant Brett Repking and Firefighters Ryan Lee and Dan Kocher of the Teutopolis Fire Protection District and Assistant Fire Chief David Browning and Captain Drew Pals of the Montrose Fire Protection District.

The Medal of Honor is the highest award given by the State of Illinois to a firefighter for an act of outstanding bravery or heroism, by which the firefighter has demonstrated in great degree the characteristics of selflessness and personal courage above and beyond the call of duty, under adverse conditions, with the possibility of extreme personal risk.

Five fallen firefighters were also remembered Tuesday. The Teutopolis and Montrose firefighters were among eight firefighters awarded the Medal of Honor.