Plummer, Wilhour, Bailey All Win Legislative Races Tuesday; Shimkus Re-Elected


Published on November 7 2018 12:29 am
Last Updated on November 7 2018 12:30 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Results throughout most of the state trended Democrat Tuesday, but not in this region of Illinois.

There were open seats for 54th District State Senator, and 107th District and 109th District State Representative, and Republicans won all three offices.

Jason Plummer defeated Brian Stout for the 54th District Senate seat currently held by Kyle McCarter, who did not seek re-election. Blaine Wilhour defeated David Seiler for the 107th District House seat now held by John Cavaletto, who did not seek re-election. Darren Bailey defeated Cynthia Given for the 109th District House seat now held by David Reis, who Bailey defeated in the Republican primary earlier this year. 

Final figures were being decided overnight, but all three elections were in the 70% to 30% range of victory.

All three winners will be sworn into office in Springfield in January.

Meanwhile, incumbent Republican Congressman John Shimkus was easily re-elected to another term in the 15th District, defeating Kevin Gaither by a similar margin to the state races. Shimkus has served in Congress since 1997.