Teutopolis Board Schedules Special Meeting to Discuss Budgetary Concerns


Published on December 18 2012 3:44 pm
Last Updated on July 14 2013 12:07 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

Teutopolis school board members have scheduled a special meeting for Thursday, January 3rd to focus on the school district's budgetary considerations.

The Board has directed Superintendent Bill Fritcher to come up with one million dollars in cuts.  A survey was sent to district residents and a tremendous percentage of district residents returned completed surveys.  Now, it's time to hear from those residents in a public forum.

Fritcher said, "We want to open it up a little to the public as far as what's on the list (of possible ways to either trim the budget or increase revenues)." 

Monday night, board members heard from four members of the Teutopolis Education Association to discuss the impact that larger class sizes could have on meeting new common core learning standards.  Common Core will replace the No Child Left Behind guidelines that have been the rule for the past decade.

In other budget related items, the Board agreed to amend the District's health/life safety plan to pay for asbestos abatement and repair work at the high school over the Christmas break with health/life safety funds, and discussed passing a resolution to pay for water and sewer service as well as custodial supplies from the Operations and Maintenance Fund with a decision to come at the regular January meeting.  The Board also passed a tax levy for the fiscal year with an increase of about 8.76% over what was extended in taxes last year.

Board members recognized Haley Isley and Kyle Pruemer as high school students of the month and Michelle Schmidt and Justin Deters as high school rookies of the month, and approved resignations from Anita Deters as part-time cafeteria helper and Jessica Heiden as seventh grade girls track coach.  The Board then hired Jessica Heiden as eighth grade boys track coach and juinor high play co-director, accepted the retirement of Cynthia Niemerg as of the end of the school year, and approved early graduation requests from Matt Boswell and Braydon Koester.