Newton Wins Sam Bennett Invitational


Published on April 13 2013 11:32 am
Last Updated on April 13 2013 11:32 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Newton won the Sam Bennett Invitational at Robinson Friday.

Newton amassed 120 points to claim the championship.  Teutopolis was second with 94 points and Neoga was third with 74 points.  Other results: Benton 56, Marshall 46, Cumberland 35, Shelbyville 34, Cowden-Herrick 20, Red Hill 20, St. Anthony 15, Olney East Richland 12, Robinson 10, Paris 9, St. Elmo 6, Altamont 4, Lawrenceville 3

Here are the first place finishers from our area:

Newton's 4X100 relay team of Kristen Frohning, Hannah Litzelman, Rachel Mammoser and Taylor Johnson won in :53.12

Teutopolis' 4X800 relay team of Lauren Jansen, Michelle Schmidt, Elena Breer and Megan Weichman won in 10:52.22

McKendra Barthelme of Newton won the 100 meter hurdles in :16.18

Taylor Johnson of Newton won the 100 in :13.06

Neoga's 4X200 meter relay team of Mallori Harshman, Taylor Rich, Olivia Ott and Courtney Croy won in 1:52.63

Megan Weichman of Teutopolis won the 400 in 1:03.21

McKendra Barthelme of Newton won the 300 meter low hurdles in :49.97

Leah Hutchison of Cumberland won the 1600 in 5:49.13

Courtney Croy of Neoga won the 200 in :26.26

Anna Hartke of Teutopolis won the high jump at 5' 3"

Courtney Croy of Neoga won the long jump at 16' 6"

Rachel Westendorf of Teutopolis won the pole vault at 10' 0"

Tara Wirth of Newton won the shot put at 33' 7-1/2"

Taylor Rich of Neoga won the triple jump at 34' 0"