Newton's Michl Earns All-Conference at Millikin


Published on February 26 2013 2:32 pm
Last Updated on February 26 2013 2:32 pm
Written by Millie Lange

DECATUR -- The Millikin men’s and women’s track team earned two event championships and set four new Big Blue school records at the 2013 CCIW Indoor Track and Field Championships held Feb. 22-23 at Carthage College in Kenosha, Wis. The Millikin women finished in fourth place while the Big Blue men finished in seventh.

LeAnn Spesard (Paris, H.S.) is the 2013 CCIW Champion in the shot put. Spesard’s toss of 14.53 meters broke the CCIW meet record and Spesard’s own Big Blue school record.

Pending other competition around the country Saturday, Spesard currently has the third best Shot Put throw in NCAA DIII this season. Spesard headed a group of three Big Blue throwers to earn All-Conference in the weight throw. Spesard finished in third place with a toss of 15.17 meters. Jordan Harris (Champaign, Centennial H.S.) was fifth at 13.71 meters and Emily Sawyer (Cerro Gordo, H.S.) was seventh with a throw of 13.03 meters. Spesard was named the meet’s Female Field Athlete of the Meet.

Ariel Robinson (Decatur, MacArthur H.S.) was the CCIW Champion in the 55 Meters in 7.33 seconds. Robinson was second in the 200 Meters in 25.81 seconds.

Kindra Emberton (Niantic, Sangamon Valley H.S.) earned All-Conference honors in four events and established three new Millikin school records. Emberton was second in the 800 meters in 2:19.11 breaking her own Millikin school record. Emberton broke another one of her own school records in the 3000 meters finishing in second in the race in 10:21.88.
Emberton finished second in the 5000 meters breaking her own school record turning in a time of 17:54.97. Emberton was eighth in the mile run in a time of 5:19.72.

Harris picked up her second All-Conference Honor in the shot put finishing in fourth place with a throw of 12.40 meters. Amanda Morgan (Flossmoor, Homewood Flossmoor H.S.) was seventh in the shot put giving Millikin three All-Conference performers in the event.

Jamie Michl (Newton, H.S.) earned All-Conference in the 800 meters finishing in eighth in 2:24.28.

In men’s competition, Millikin had five athletes earn All-Conference honors by finishing in the top eight in their event.

Justin Brooks (Bloomington, H.S.) was fifth in the triple jump at 13.33 meters.Freshman Alex Kemp (Tuscola, H.S.) was seventh in the 200 meters in 22.78. Dustin Roth (Hillsboro, Mo., H.S.) was seventh in the heptathlon with 4,114 points. Roth won the pole vault portion of the multi-event competition with a jump of 4.15 meters.

Millikin senior Jordan Rahar (Taylorville, H.S.) was seventh in the long jump at 6.68 meters. Freshman Darrell Hunt (East St. Louis, Ill., Rosemount, Minn. H.S.) was eighth in the event at 6.61 meters.

Millikin’s 4x400 Relay team finished sixth place in 3:28.40. Trevor Crum (Heyworth, H.S.), Jordan McCall (Illiopolis, Sangamon Valley H.S.), Kemp and Ibn Powell (Lynwood, Thornton Fraction South H.S.) teamed up to turn him Millikin’s second all-time fastest 4x400 relay time.