Area Boys Track Athletes Headed to State


Published on May 23 2018 8:53 am
Last Updated on May 23 2018 9:04 am
Written by Millie Lange

Area athletes will be competing in the Class 1A and Class 2A Boys State Track Meets Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Five Effingham High School tracksters will head to the Class 2A State Meet which is scheduled for Friday with preliminaries and Saturday with finals.

Terrence Hill will be competing in the 100 and high jump. Alec Morrissey will take part in the pole vault while Frank Schniederjon with throw the shot. Jacob Miller will take part in the triple jump and Kody Line the high jump.

Field events will begin at 8 a.m. Friday with running events at 9 a.m. Hill will run the 100 prelims at approximately 2:17 p.m.

In Class 1A, that will be contested with preliminaries Thursday and finals Saturday, eight area schools will be represented.

Newton High School will be represented by one individual and three relay teams. Peyton Doughty will compete in the 100.

The 400 relay team consists of Doughty, Adam Bridges, Trenton Duncan and Rhett Kocher. The 800 relay team includes Doughty, Duncan, Bridges and Kocher. The 1600 relay team includes Ben Carr, Duncan, Tucker Rieman and Collin Harris.

Neoga's Zack Gresens and Trevor Fletcher will be competing in two events each. Both will take part in the triple jump while Gresens will be a contender in the long jump and Fletcher in the 200.

Cumberland will have three individuals and two relay teams competing. Ryan Yaw will run the 100 while Myles Gerhardt will compete in the 400. Tyson Magee will take part in the high jump.

The Priates have two relay teams, the 400 which includes Yaw, Magee, Wyatt Brant and Gerhardt and the 1600 which includes Yaw, Magee Brant and Gerhardt.

Teutopolis has three individuals competing in field events. Paul Esker will high jump while Jason Kowalski will be in the pole vault and Joey Kingery will throw the discus.

Altamont will have three athletes taking part in four events. Nate Brown will throw of the shot and also the discus while Tim Moore will take part in the pole vault and Jared Kollman the discus.

Brownstown/St. Elmo's Jason McWhorter will high jump.

Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City's Dylan Webster will take part in the pole vault.

Field events begin at 10 a.m. Thursday while running events start at 11 a.m.

The opening ceremony Saturday will be held from 9:30-10 a.m. The long jump, triple jump, shot, pole vault and high jump will begin at 10 a.m. and the discus at 12:30 p.m. Running finals begin with the 3200 at 10 a.m. Class 1A, 2A and 3A will alternate in the runnings events.