Several Area Tracksters Advance To Class 1A Finals


Published on May 25 2017 2:26 pm
Last Updated on May 26 2017 6:09 am
Written by Millie Lange

CHARLESTON -- Several area athletes advanced to the finals in the Class 1A State Track Meet held at Eastern Illinois University's O'Brien Stadium Thursday.

Effingham St. Anthony's Dalton Walk will be competing in the finals of the shot. Walk qualified with a throw of 48 feet, 2 inches. However, teammate Ty Kinkelaar just missed out with a throw that was only a half inch less than Walk's at 48-1 1/2. Also not advancing in the shot was Newton's Nicholas Cartright with a throw of 44-3/4.

Newton's Joseph Stone will be competing Saturday in the 800 after qualifying with a time of 1:51.21 minutes.

Also advancing for the Eagles was the 400 relay team of Mitch Bierman, Trenton Duncan, Rhett Kocher and Stone who finished with a time of 44.08 seconds. Not qualifying in the 400 relay was the Cumberland team of Ryan Yaw, Tyson Magee, Myles Gerhardt and Dillon Howard who finished in 44.85.

Newton's 800 relay team of Bierman, Ben Carr, Duncan and Kocher did not advance with a time of 1:33.38.

Only one area runner advanced in the 400 and that was Cumberland's Howard who finished in 51.10 seconds. Not qualifying were St. Anthony's Jack Nuxoll in 52.50 and Cumberland's Gerhardt who finished in 52.18.

Brownstown/St. Elmo/s Seth Powell did not advance in the triple jump with a leap of 38 feet, 6 3/4 inches.

Altamont's Jesus Flores did not advance in the 1600. Flores finished with a time of 4:36.10.

Newton's Rhett Kocher did not advance ni the 200 where he finished with a time of 23.35.

Two area pole vaulters advanced. T-town's Andrew McWhorter and Altamont's Tim Moore both reached 13 feet. Not qualifying were Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City's Keegan Martin at 11-6 and Dylan Webster who did not reach a height and Altamont's Donavan Delaney who went 11-6.

One high jumper advanced and that was Newton's Keith King who went 6 feet, 2 inches. Not qualifyign were Cumberland's Tyson Magee at 5-1 and T-town's Devin Mette at 5-11.

One team reached the finals and one didn't in the 1600 relay. The Cumberland team of Ryan Yaw, Cole Willenborg, Gerhard and Howard advanced with atime of 3:30.31. Not advancing was the Newton team of King,  Carr, Cole Farley and Stone in 3:35.03.

St. Anthony's Ty Kinkelaar qualified for the finals in the discus with a throw of 164 feet, 6 inches. Also qualifying in the discus was Altamont's Nate  Brown with a throw of 14-9.