Eighth-Grade Athletes Set For State Track Meets


Published on May 21 2014 8:57 am
Last Updated on May 21 2014 8:57 am
Written by Millie Lange

Area teams will be sending athletes to the IESA Class AA State Boys and Girls Track Meets Friday and Saturday at EastSide Centre in East Peoria.

Effingham, Teutopolis and Jasper County will have qualifiers competing in seventh and eighth grade girls and seventh and eighth grade boys. Following is a list of athletes from each school.


Seventh-Grade Girls

100 – Kiyah Kuhlman (Effingham)

200 – Kiyah Kuhlman (Effingham)

1600 – Abbigayle Weis (Effingham), Savannah Grimes (Teutopolis)

800 Relay – Teutopolis (Julia Hardiek, Lanae Koester, Morgan Mette, Madeline Niebrugge)

1600 Relay – Effingham (Carsyn Fearday, Miranda Fox, Kiyah Kuhlman, Abbigayle Weis), Teutopolis (Savannah Gimres, Julia Hardiek, Lanae Koester, Morgan Mette)

High Jump – Mallory Bergbower (Jasper County), Elizabeth Will (Teutopolis), Kaylee Phillips (Effingham)

Pole Vault – Jaclyn Barthelme (Jasper County), Morgan Mette (Teutopolis)

Shot – Alison Russell (Jasper County)

Discus – Emma Deters (Teutopolis), Katie Hartke (Jasper County)


Eighth-Grade Girls

400 Relay – Jasper County (Abby Frohning, Alex Haarman, Josey Hyatt, Halley Powers)

800 Relay – Effingham (Miranda Fox, Kiyah Kuhlman, Ashlyn Hanks, Hannah Talor)

1600 Relay – Teutopolis (Claire Bushur, Lauren Hemmen, Marianna Hemmen, Karsyn Mette)

Pole Vault – Marianna Hemmen (Teutopolis)

Long Jump – Hannah Taylor (Effingham), Alex Haarman (Jasper County)

High Jump – Chloe Martin (Effingham), Lauren Wessel (Teutopolis), Ashlyn Hanks (Effingham)

Shot – Shelby Myers (Effingham), Alexis Cox (Jasper County)

Discus – Abby Frohning (Jasper County)


Seventh-Grade Boys

100 – Zachary Lee (Efifngham)

200 – Zachary Lee (Effingham)

110 Hurdles – Kendall Ballman (Effingham)

Long Jump – Conner Bierman (Jasper County)

800 Relay – Effingham (Cameron Kalber, Kaleb Kihne, Zachary Lee, Tyler Marchewski)

1600 Relay – Effingham (Clayton Cramsey, Cameron Kalber, Kaleb Kihne Tyler Marchewski)


Eighth-Grade Boys

100 – Terrence Hill (Effingham)

200 – Terrence Hill (Effingham)

110 Hurdles – Terrence Hill (Effingham)

800 Relay – Effingham (Schuette, Kody Line, Jordan McCabe, Alec Morrissey)

Pole Vault – Alec Morrissey (Effingham), Lucas Vasquez (Effingham), Will Schlink (Teutopolis)

Long Jump – Kody Line (Effingham)

High Jump – Terrence Hill (Effingham), Kody Line (Effingham)

Discus – Jake Wente (Teutopolis)