Djokovic, Osaka Win Australian Tennis Open


Published on February 22 2021 6:09 am
Last Updated on February 22 2021 6:09 am

Novak Djokovic and Naomi Osaka won the Australian Tennis Open, giving Djokovic his 18th Grand Slam victory and Osaka her fourth.

Top-seeded Djokovic of Serbia defeated fourth-seeded Russian Daniil Medvedev 7-5, 6-2, 6-2 Sunday to win his third consecutive Australian Open and ninth overall.

Third-seeded Osaka won the women’s title a day earlier, beating Number 22 Jennifer Brady of the U.S. 6-4, 6-3. Osaka has won all four Grand Slam finals she’s been in, including the 2019 Australian Open and the U.S. Open last year and in 2018.