Teutopolis Wins Tennis Sectional


Published on October 15 2012 7:09 am
Last Updated on October 15 2012 7:10 am
Written by Millie Lange

Teutopolis High School claimed the team championship of the St. Anthony Tennis Sectional Saturday. Elena Breer advances to state in singles while Allison Vogt and Cheyenne Lueken advance in doubles.


Teutopolis High School captured the team championship of the Effingham St. Anthony Tennis Sectional Saturday.

The Wooden Shoes won the team title with 23 points followed by Olney 16, St. Anthony 15, Effingham 14, Hillsboro 10, Salem 10, Flora 6, Greenville 6 and Vandalia 0.

The top four in both singles and doubles play advance to the State Tournament which begins Thursday and runs Friday and Saturday. Buffalo Grove High School is tournament central with matches being played at Barrington, Buffalo Grove, Conant, Elk Grove, Fremd, Hersey, Hoffman Estates, Palatine, Prospect, Rolling Meadows, Schaumburg and  Wheeling.

Effingham's Lauren Hoekstra won the singles championship beating crosstown rival St. Anthony's D.J. Brummer, 6-2, 6-0. The third place match featured Elena Breer of Teutopolis against Jessica Gaither of Flora. The match was not played due to illness of one of the players but both qualified for State.

In doubles, Olney's Kelsey Shipman and Alex Kauble won the championship, defeating Allison Vogt and Cheyenne Lueken of Teutopolis, 6-1, 6-0. Anna Utz and Lexie Niebrugge of St. Anthony won the third place contest over Sam Eblin and Kylie Amerman of Salem, 6-2, 6-0. All four of those doubles team advance to state.

Sectional Results


First Round

Anya Thomas (Greenville) defeated Hannah Blythe (Vandalia), 6-3, 7-6

Jaclyn Shan (Olney) defeated Ashley West (Salem), 6-1, 6-0

Second Round

Lauren Hoekstra (Effingham) defeated Isauro Carro (Flora), 6-0, 6-0

Clark (Hillsboro) defeated Ashley Brooks (Salem), 6-0, 6-0

Elena Breer (Teutopolis) defeated Sydney Shan (Olney), 6-0, 6-1

Anya Thomas (Greenville) defeated Jenny Walters (St. Anthony), 6-4, 0-6, 6-4

Holley Wright (Teutopois) defeated Jaclyn Shan (Olney), 3-6, 6-0, 7-5

D.J. Brummer (St. Anthony) defeated Claudia Vinuela-Ayllon (Effingham), 6-0, 6-4

Dehghani (Hillsboro) defeated Jordan Boren (Vandalia), 6-0, 6-1

Jessica Gaither (Flora) defeated Abby Gaffner (Flora), 6-0, 6-1

Third Round

Hoekstra (Effingham) defeated Clark (HIllsboro), 6-0, 6-0

Breer (Teutopolis) defeated Thomas (Greenville), 3-6, 6-1, 6-0

Brumemr (St. Anthony) defeated Wright (Teutopolis), 7-5, 6-1

Gaither (Flora) defeated Dehghani (Hillsboro), 6-0, 6-1

Fifth Round

Hoekstra (Effingham) defeated Breer (Teutopolis), 6-0, 6-1

Brummer (St. Anthony) defeated Gaither (Flora), 6-0, 6-1

Third Place

Breer (Teutopolis) defeated Gaither (Flora), walkover


Hoekstra (Effingham) defeated Brummer (St. Anthony), 6-3, 6-0


First round

Pagen-Bievieg (Hillsboro) defeated Brimberry-Britt (Vandalia), 3-6, 6-1, 6-4

Brannon-Siefken (Greenville) defeated Hensley-Luttrell (Flora), 6-3, 4-6, 7-6

Second Round

Shipman-Kauble (Olney) defeated Filby-Guy (Vandalia), 6-0, 6-0

Haake-Gurley (Effingham) defeated  Glasfsord-WInka (Flora), 3-6, 6-3, 6-2

Eblin-Amerman (Salem) defeated Schutzbach-Gardewine (St. Anthony), 6-3, 6-3

Miller-Drees (Teutopolis) defeated Pagen-Bievieg (Hillsboro), 6-0, 6-0

R. Shan-Gassmann (Olney) defeated Brannon-Siefken (Greenville), 6-2, 6-3

Utz-Niebrugge (St. Anthony) defeated Kull-Funneman (Effingham), 6-2, 6-0

Holste-Jourdan (Salem) defeated Ehrat-Jones (Vandalia), 6-1, 3-6, 6-3

Lueken-Vogt (Teutopolis) defeated Anderson-Bowman (Hillsboro), 6-0, 6-0

Third Round

Shipman-Kauble (Olney) defeated Haake-Gurley (Effingham), 6-1, 6-0

Eblin-Amerman (Salem) defeated Miller-Drees (Teutopolis), 5-7, 6-2, 6-3

Lueken-Vogt (Teutopolis) defeated Utz-Niebrugge (St. Anthony), 6-4, 6-2

Fourth  Round

Shipman-Kauble (Olney) defeated Eblin-Amerman (Salem), 6-3, 6-0

Lueken-Vogt (Teutopolis) defeated Utz-Niebrugge (St. Anthony), 6-4, 7-6 (3)

Third Place

Utz-Niebrugge (St. Anthony) defeated Ebin-Amerman (Salem), 6-2, 6-0


Shipman-Kauble (Olney) defeated Lueken-Vogt (Teutopolis), 6-1, 6-0