Local Players Make All-Area Softball Teams


Published on July 5 2018 7:18 am
Last Updated on July 5 2018 8:39 am
Written by Millie Lange

Several area players were named to the Decatur Herald & Review All-Area softball teams while Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg's Craig Moffett was named the Coach of the Year.

Moffett guided the Hatchets to the Class 1A state title and a 28-4 record.

Three Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg players were named to the First Team. Garnering that honor were Mackenzie Tabbert, the catcher for the state championship team. The junior hit .406 with five home runs and 39 RBI. Megan Schlechte was named as a utility player. The junior hit .430 with four home runs and 41 RBI and pitched 75 innings with a 1.57 ERA and 105 strikeouts and Calla Roney was named as a pitcher. The junior had a 15-2 record with 1.05 ERA. She had 203 strikeouts. She hit .459 with four home runs and 37 RBI.

Cumberland's Madison Hendrix was named as a utility player. The sophomore led the Pirates in hitting with a .476 average. She broke a 19 year old single-season RBI record with 48 and tied a home run record with eight. She went 7-0 on the mound with a 1.44 ERA. She struck out 71 batters in 63 innings.

Other players named to the First Team were Allie Dunn, infield-pitcher (Central A&M), Macey McElravy, infield-pitcher (Charleston), Isabelle Shelmadine, infield (Tuscola), Natalie Jeffers, outfield (Okaw Valley), Grace Harlin, outfield (Okaw Valley), Reagan McGahey, utility (Charleston) and Claire Mauldling, pitcher (Casey-Westfield).

Named to the Second Team from the area were Effingham High School's Jaidi Davis. The freshman was named as a utility player. She hit .400 with 30 RBI and went 11-3 on the mound with a 2.36 ERA.

Cumberland's Liberty Dunaway was named outfield/pitcher. She went 131 innings on the mound with 106 strikeouts and a 1.81 ERA. The junior hit .349 with 37 RBI.

Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg's Carson Cole was named a utility player. The junior had a .404 batting average and a .539 slugging percentage. She scored 54 runs.

Others named were Channing Reed, catcher (Central A&M), Reagan Miller, infield (Arthur-Lovington/Atwood-Hammond), Brooke Friesner, infield (Central A&M), Samantha Johnson, outfield (Oblong), Laney Gowin, outfield (Casey-Westfield), Ramsey Armstrong, outfield (Charleston), Emily Price, pitcher (Charleston) and Ashton Smith, pitcher (Tuscola).

Local players who were named Third Team members were Katie Kabbes, a junior infielder from Effingham St. Anthony, Ally Armstrong, a senior pitcher from Effingham and Tinley Mette, a junior shortstop from Altamont.

Other Third Team members were Ashtyn Clark, catcher (Tuscola), Summer Johnson, infield (Oblong), Natalie Gordon, outfield (Charleston), Jocelyn Lewis, utility (Shelbyville), Lindsey Beasley, utility (Casey-Westfield), Taylor Powell, utility (Arthur-Lovington/Atwood-Hammond) and Camryn Travis, pitcher (Oblong).

Local Honorable Mention players were Jessica Coffin (Effingham St. Anthony), Lauryn Douthit (Effingham), Carsyn Fearday (Effingham), Jessica Atwell (Neoga), Andrea Bierman (Dieterich), Alli Brumleve (Teutopolis), Madison Cherry (Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City), Sydnee Garrett (South Central), Marianna Hemmen (Teutopolis), Katelyn Maxey (St. Elmo/Brownstown), Karsyn Mette (Teutopolis), Natalie Oberlink (St. Elmo/Brownstown), Makenzie Parkison (St Elno/Brownstown), Zaryah Smith (Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City), Shelbi Stone (Altamont) and Elizabeth Titus (Neoga).