Area Players Named to ICA State Softball Teams


Published on June 13 2018 8:25 am
Last Updated on June 13 2018 8:25 am
Written by Millie Lange

Several area players made the Illinois Coaches Association All-State Softball teams.

Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg's Calla Roney was named to the Class 1A State First Team.

Named to the Second Team were Cumberland's Madison Hendrix and Liberty Dunaway and Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg's Megan Schlechte and Mackenzi Tabbert.

Named to the Class 1A Third Team was Effingham St. Anthony's Katie Kabbes.

Other local players named were Emily Compton (Centralia Christ Our Rock, First Team), Abbie Dart (Oblong, Second Team), Camryn Travis (Oblong, Third Team), Summer Johnson (Oblong, Third  Team) and Samantha Johnson (Oblong, Third Team).

Named on the Class 2A All-State First Team was Sydney Cammon (Flora, pitcher). Named to the Second Team were Lindsey Beasley (Casey-Westfield, shortstop) and Kasey Jennings (Flora, catcher)

Named on the Class 2A All-State Third TeamTeam were Mackenzie Morgan (Casey-Westfield, third base), Claire Maulding (Casey-Westfield, pticher), Skylar Freeman (Flora, third base) and Gracey Himelick (outfield, Flora).

Named to the Class 3A All-State First Team was Dayna Kennedy (Mount Zion, catcher). Named to the Second Team were Macey McElravy (Charleston, infield), Emily Price (Charleston, pitcher), Bailey Davis (Mount Zion, infield) and Camryn Skundberg (Mount Zion, infield).

Named to the 3A Third Team were Reagan McGahey (Charleston, infield), Ramsey  Armstrong (Charleston, outfield), Dee Campbell (Charleston, pitcher) and Kynzie Wrigley (Mount Zion, infield).