All-Apollo Conference Soccer Team Named


Published on November 13 2019 2:12 pm
Last Updated on November 13 2019 2:12 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Three Effingham players were named All-Apollo Conference in soccer.

Named to the First Team was the Hearts' Osvaldo Angel, a freshman. Named to the Second Team were senior Deryl Pleasant and junior Bryan Angel.

Other members of the First Team were Ben Tresslar (Charleston), AJ Beard (Lincoln), Eli Warren (Mahomet-Seymour), Kadyn Jones (Mahomet-Seymour), Jacob Janda (Mahomet-Seymour), Shane Ghere (Mattoon), Mason Wright (Mattoon), Jonathan Oliger (Mount Zion), Jake Shumaker (Mount Zion) and Derek Austin (Mount Zion).

Named to the Second Team were Blake Garrett (Charleston), William Carrillo (Charleston), Payton Lanning (Lincoln), Colten Brunner (Mahomet-Seymour), Nate Lundstrum (Mahomet-Seymour), Jakob Weder (Mattoon), Gavin Gonzalez (Mattoon), Brock Kennell (Mount Zion) and Preston Good (Taylorville).

The final standings were as follows:

1. Mahomet-Seymour 10-0-2, 2. Mount Zion 9-2-1, 3. Mattoon 6-2-4, 4. Charleston 6-5-1, 5. Lincoln 4-7-1, 6. Effingham 2-9-1 and 7. Taylorville 0-12-0.