St. Anthony Fall Athletes Honored


Published on November 7 2018 9:11 am
Last Updated on November 7 2018 10:18 am
Written by Millie Lange

Effingham St. Anthony High School athletes competing in fall sports were honored with letters and awards. Fall sports included baseball, girls tennis, boys and girls golf, boys and girls cross country, soccer and volleyball.

In girls tennis, awards went to Emilee Mossman for Singles Most Valuable Player, Averee Green and Allison Kowalke for Doubles Most Valuable Players, Allie Dasenbrock for Most Improved, Catherine Willenborg won the Bulldog award and Payton Sehy claimed the Hustle award.

Letterwinners include Hannah Buenker, Emilee Mossman, Allison Kowalke, Averee Greene, Allie Dasenbrock, Catherine Willenborg, Caroline Deters, Karlee Roepke and Jessica Cook.

Soccer awards went to Moises Lemus for Offensive Player of the Year and Quinton Milleville for Defensive Player of the Year. Braeden Quandt won the Top Scorer award while Jacob Blanchette claimed the 10:31 Player of the Year. Adam Brandenburger was named Top Contributor.

Lettermen were Jack Elder, Luke Swingler, Reilly Ashton, Will Swingler, Quinton Milleville, Adam Brandenburger, Moises Lemus, Will Fonner, Trey Brummer, Isaiah Daiber, Wade Lawrence, Jacob Blanchette and Braeden Quandt.

Boys golf awards went to Luke Ludwig for Low Handicap Varsity, Ryan Schultz for Low Handicap Junior Varsity and Luke Flaig for Most Improved.

Letters were claimed by Alex Erickson, Luke Ludwig, Nathan Schultz, Ben Strullmyer, Zach Wortman, Luke Flaig, Darin Hutchison, Jayden Rios, Ryan Schultz and Thomas Chojnicki

Ava Wegman was named Most Valuable Player for girls golf. Most Improved went to Morgan Schuette. Ellie Wegman won the Freshman award.

Letterwinners were Ava Wegman, Clare McHugh, Abby Repking, Regan Koester, Jessica Coffin, Reagan Westendorf, Morgan Schuette, Macy Ludwig, Cara Hakman, Ellie Wegman, Nina Hakman and Abigail Dietzen.

Baseball awards went to Colin Koester for Most Valuable Pitcher, Davis Tingley for Most Valuable Player Offense, Kaden Fearday for Highest Batting Average, Hunter Stephens for Most Improved Player and Jack Hoene for Most Valuable Player Defense.

Earning letters were Dylan Guy, Jared Hoene, Colin Koester, Blake Niebrugge, Bryson Wall, Hunter Stephens, Gavin Braunecker, Kaden Fearday, Jack Hoene, Davis Tingley, Aaron Webb, Conner Will, Logan Antrim and Angelo Mendella.

Cross country awards went to Sarah Carr for Most Valuable Runner, Brian Dust for Most Valuable Runner and Ollie Kingery for the Francis Bloemer Best Attitude Award.

Earning letters were Sarah Carr, Riley Guy, Audrey Niebrugge, Jessica Wilson, Kaitlyn Zeller, Brian Dust, Drew Dust, Austin Faber, Dylan Helmink, Will Kabbes, Ollie Kingery, Will Lawrence, Will Niebrugge, Grant Nuxoll, James Schuette, Noah Tegeler, Tom Unkraut, Kennan Walsh, Ty Wiedman and Mick Willenborg.

Volleyball awards were claimed by Meg Richarrs for Offensive Player of the Year and Katie Kabbes for Defensive Player of the Year. Most improved went to Sydney Gibson. Anna Jones won the Grit award and the Leadrship award went ot Abby Stock.

Varsity letters went to Anna Jones, Sophie Moore, Abby Stock, Katie Kabbes, Sydney Gibson, Shea Kinkelaar, Meg Richards, Ada Rosine and Elizabeth Kabbes.