EHS Fall Sports Athletes Earn Awards, Letters


Published on November 7 2017 10:22 am
Last Updated on November 7 2017 10:49 am
Written by Millie Lange

Effingham High School fall sports athletes were honored with a banquet Monday evening at the Hearts Rock Cafe.

Girls golf award winners were, left to right, Abbi Burgess, Ava Boehm and Lindsey Stephenson.

Girls golf awards were presented by Coach Jerry Trigg. Winning awards were Abbi Burgess (Player of the Year), Lindsey Stephenson (Sportsmanship) and Ava Boehm (Most Improved).

Letterwinners were Burgess, Stephenson, Boehm, Keira Hirtzel, Morgan Krouse and Kennedy Collier.

Boys golf award winners were, left to right, Aiden Beck, Jacob Sigg, Ryan Sandifer and Brett Koester.

Boys golf awards were presented by Coach Jeff Schafer. Awards went to Jacob Sigg (Most Valuable Player), Ryan Sandifer (Coaches award), Brett Koester (Most Improved Player) and Aiden Beck (Best Underclassman).

Letters went to Sigg, Sandifer, Koester, Beck, Colby Heaton and Tate Niebrugge.

Tennis award winners were, left to right, Lauryn Douthit, Chloe Funneman, Caroline Kull, Hanna Lewis and Skyler Schafer.

Coach Erik Williamson presented girls tennis awards. Winning were Skyler Schafer (Most Valuble Singles Player, Holly Nosbisch Sportsmanship), Chloe Funneman (Most Valuable Doubles Player), Lauryn Douthit (Most Valuable Doubles Player), Caroline Kull (Most Improved Player) and Hanna Lewis (Most Supportive Team Player).

Letters went to Schafer, Funneman, Douthit, Kull, Taylor Boyle and Riley Arend.

Varsity volleyball award winners were, left to right, Kourtney Cordes, Jordan Christy, Olivia Martin, Carsyn Fearday, Miranda Fox and Aly Armstrong.

Freshman, junior varsity and varsity volleyball awards were presented by Coach Mindy Boswell and Assistant Coach Colleen Westendorf.

Varsity awards went to Carsyn Fearday (Most Aces, Most Assists), Aly Armstrong (Most Assists), Chloe Martin (Most Kills, Most Blocks, Most Valuable Player), Miranda Fox (Most Digs), Kourtney Cordes (Sportsmanship) and Jordan Christy (Hustle).

Letterwinners were Armstrong, Fearday, C. Martin, Fox, Cordes, Christy, Shelby Myers, Nartalie Carie, Becca Webster, Kiyah Kuhlman and Olivia Martin.

Freshman/sophomore volleyball award winners were, left to right, Morgan Hagler, Callie Feldhake, Olivia Martin, Eliza Montgomery, Emma Budde and Hayley Diveley.

Junior varsity award winners were Kiyah Kuhlman (Most Aces, Most Blocks), Hayley Dively (Most Assists), Callie Feldhake (Most Kills), Emma Budde (Most Digs), Eliza Montgomery (Most Blocks) and Olivia Martin (Best Serving Percentage).

Freshman/sophomore awards went to Gracie Hibbets (Most Improved) and Morgan Hagler (Hustle award).

Cross country award winners were, left to right, Zeel Patel, Patrick Sherrod, Kourtney Cordes, Miranda Fox, Madison Tilford, Olivia Fritcher, Alfredo Lopez and Dane Seiler.

Cross country awards were presented by Coach Jennifer Kirk. Most Improved awards went to Dane Seiler and Olivia Fritcher. Most Valuable Runner went to Alfredo Lopez and Miranda Fox. Winning the Spirit award were Zeel Patel and Madison Tilford. The HEARTS award went to Patrick Sherrod and Kourtney Cordes.

Letters went to Lopez, Sherrod, Patel, Andrew Perry, Chris Schaefer, Clayton Cramsey, Fox, Cordes, Abby Weis, Kiley Weaver, Brianna Schmidt and Meredith Kull.

Soccer award winners were, left to right, Parker Siner, Maria Dust, Noah Mulheron, Danny Hortenstine and Deryl Pleasant.

Soccer awards were presented by Coaches Lee Althoff, Juan Angel and Martin Reyes. Varsity awards went to Danny Hortenstine (Defensive), Said Angel (Offensive), Parker Siner (Most Improved, Most Valuable Underclassman), Noah Mulheron (Most Valuable Player) and Maria Dust (Heart of the Team).

Receiving letters were Dust, Hortenstine, Mulheron, Siner, Kaleb Blake, Zach Keitel, Jacob Swan, Alex Pasley, Brandon Marschewski, Brennan Barr, Cooper Jackson, Alan Hazelton, Josh Bowlin, Victor Carrillo and Bryan Angel.

Junior varsity soccer awards went to Deryl Pleasant (Defensive), Francisco Guerrero (Offensive) and Isabella Munoz (Heart of the Team).