Effingham High School Award Winners Announced


Published on November 8 2016 8:59 am
Last Updated on November 8 2016 9:39 am
Written by Millie Lange

Effingham High School athletes were honored Monday evening with a banquet and awards ceremony at the Hearts Rock Cafe.

Girls golf award winners were, left to right, Alex Brummer, Abbi Burgess and Kennedy Collier.

Girls golf award winners were Alex Brummer (Player of the Year), Abbi Burgess (Sportsmanship award) and Kennedy Collier (Most Improved)

Letterwinners were Brummer, Burgess, Collier, Jade Depoister, Lindsey Stephenson and Keira Hirtzel.

Boys golf award winners were, left to right, Tate Niebrugge, Matt Linders, Callaway Smith and Aiden Beck.

Callaway Smith won the Most Valuable Player award in boys golf. Matt Linders was presented with the Coaches award. Aiden Beck won the Most Improved Player award and Tate Niebrugge was named Best Underclassmen.

Letterwinners were Smith, Linders, Beck, Niebrugge, Ryan Sandifer and Jacob Sigg.

Tennis award winners were, left to right, Lauryn Douthit, Skyler Schafer, Chloe Funneman, Kyra Bannister and Shania Cornell.

Girls tennis letterwinners named were Chloe Funneman, Lauryn Douthit, Kyra Bannister, Skyler Schafer, Taylor Boyle, Shania Cornell, Emily Kelly and Krystine Blackwell.

Awards went to Funneman for Most Valuable Singles Player and Most Valuable Doubles Player, Douthit for Most Valuable Doubles Player, Cornell for Most Improved Player and Schafer for Most Supportive Team Player and  Holly Nosbisch Sportsmanship award.


Cross country award winners were, left to right, Brett Koester, Avery Lueken, Chris Schaefer, Jacob Donaldson, Miranda Fox, Alexis Monnet, Hope Monnet and Meredith Kull.

Boys cross country awards went to Avery Lueken (Most Improved), Jacob Donaldson (Most Valuable Runner), Brett Koester (Sportsmanship) and Chris Schaefer (The HEARTS award). Lettermen were Donaldson, Koester, Schaefer, Patrick Sherrod, Izayah Goss and Brady Mapes.

Girls cross country awards went to Hope Monnet (Most Improved), Miranda Fox (Most Valuable Runner), Meredith Kull (Sportsmanship award) and Alexis Monnet (The HEARTS award).

Letters went to Fox, A. Monnet, Kull, Ashlyn Hanks and Brianna Schmidt.

Soccer award winners are, left to right, Parker Siner, Danny Hortenstine, Zach Keitel, Brennen Barr, Maria Dust, Noah Mulheron and Deryl Pleasant.

Varsity soccer awards were presented to Antonio Munoz (Defensive award), Noah Mulheron (Offensive award), Zach Kietel (Most Improved), Danny Hortenstine (Most Valuable Player), Maria Dust (Heart of the Team) and Brennen Barr (Most Valuable Underclassmen).

Junior varsity soccer awards went to Deryl Pleasant (Defensive award), Parker Siner (Offensive award) and Isabella Munoz (Heart of the Team).

Letterwinners were A. Munoz, Mulheron, Keitel, Hortenstine, Dust, Barr, Pleasant, Siner, I. Munoz, Roberto Sotelo, Will Starwalt, Alessandro Boca, Kaleb Blake, Per Kristian Eide, Jacob Swan, Damian Courtright, Copper Jackson, Josh Bowlin, Chuck Westendorf and Clayton Cramsey.

Varsity volleyball award winners are, left to right, Kaitlyn Baker, Victoria Garren, Sidney Webster, Chloe Martin, Hannah Pike and Kourtney Cordes.

Varsity volleyball awards went to Hannah Pike (Best Serving Percentage), Sidney Webster (Most Assists), Kaitlyn Baker (Most Aces, Most Kills, Most Valuable Player), Victoria Garren (Most Digs), Chloe Martin (Most Blocks) and Kourtney Cordes (Sportsmanship).

Junior varsity volleyball award winners were, left to right, Kiyah Kuhlman, Carsyn Fearday, Miranda Fox and Becca Webster.

Junior Varsity volleyball award winners were Becca Webster (Most Aces), Carsyn Fearday (Most Assists), Kiyah Kuhlman (Most Kills), Miranda Fox (Most Digs) and Kiyah Kuhlman (Most Blocks).

Freshman/sophomore award winners were, left to right, Callie Feldhake and Emma Budde.

Freshman/sophomore volleyball award winners were Callie Feldhake (Most Improved) and Emma Budde (Hustle).

Letterwinners were Baker, Pike, Martin, Cordes, Webster, Garren, Abbey Meinhart, Aly Armstrong and Riya Shah.