Silva Selected to Millikin All-Academic Team


Published on March 4 2013 4:52 pm
Last Updated on March 4 2013 4:52 pm
Written by Millie Lange

Millikin, CCIW Announce Fall Jack Swartz Award Winners
and Academic All-Conference Athletes

DECATUR -- Millikin University, in conjunction with the
College Conference of Illinois and Wisconsin (CCIW), announceD its Jack Swartz Award Recipients and the CCIW Academic All-Conference team for fall 2012.

Seniors Brittany Childress (Decatur, Warrensburg-Latham H.S.), Michelle Hoerber (Fulton, Mo., H.S.) and Jake Palmer (Villa Grove, Ill., H.S.) were selected as recipients of the Jack Swartz Award.  To be considered as a Swartz Award winner, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.50
grade point average and must have earn a letter in a their varsity sport.
Childress, an Elementary Education, and Hoerber, a Finance and Mathematics double major, had the highest grade point averages for the fall female athletes with near perfect work in the classroom.  Childress was named to the 2012 Capital One Academic All‐District ® Volleyball Team, selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America and was named to the CCIW Tournament All-Tournament Team.

Palmer, an Elementary Education major, was a starting wide receiver for the Big Blue football team.  Palmer is a team and campus community leader at Millikin and had the highest cumulative grade point average of Millikin’s male fall athletes.

Each season the CCIW selects an Academic All-Conference Team. To be recognized, the student-athlete must be enrolled as a full-time student; must have earned a letter during the 2012 fall season; and must carry at least a 3.30 cumulative grade point average.

Selected from the area was Christian Silva (Effingham, Effingham H.S.), senior, football, Sports Management.