Effingham's Whitaker Named To All-Conference Team


Published on November 14 2012 6:16 am
Last Updated on November 14 2012 6:16 am
Written by Millie Lange

DECATUR, Ill.—Four Millikin University football players were honored today with selection to the 2012 College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin (CCIW) All-Conference FootballTeam. The team was chosen by the CCIW head football coaches. Senior Erik Tobey (Herscher, H.S.) was named to the All-Conference First Team at wide receiver.

Senior Matt Holmes (Wheeling, H.S.) was selected for the All-Conference Second Team at quarterback and junior Eric Whitaker (Shumway, Effingham H.S.) was selected to
the All-Conference Second Team’s Offensive Line.

Big Blue senior Marquette Moore (Mt. Vernon, H.S.) was named to the Second Team at linebacker. Tobey led the Big Blue with 70 catches for 860 yards and 10 touchdowns. Tobey was also 2-2 passing for 114 yards and two touchdowns. Tobey had five put returns averaging 24.4 yards a returned and had a 93 yard punt return for a touchdown. Tobey had 21 kickoff returns averaging over 21 yards a return. Tobey set a number of Millikin records this season including longest punt return for a touchdown (93), most receptions in a season (70), punt return average for a season (24.4) and twice tied the Millikin record for receptions in a game with 14.

In CCIW play, Tobey led the conference in receptions averaging 11.9 per game and ranked second in receiving yards per game with a 112 yard average. Holmes had a record setting season for the Big Blue passing for 2,162 yards and 26 touchdowns and rushing for 732 yards and five touchdowns.

Holmes had two pass receptions for 65 yards and two touchdowns. Holmes set Millikin records for pass completions in a season (173), passing yards in a season (2,162), touchdown passes in a season (26), total offense in a season (2,894), offensive plays in a season by a quarterback (431), total offense in a game (475 yards) and offensive plays in a career by a quarterback (1,037). Holmes ended his career as Millikin’s number three all-time passer with 4,903 yards. Holmes led the CCIW in total offense and was the second leading passer.

Whitaker, a junior, anchored Millikin’s offensive line that helped the Big Blue to average
36 points per game and 433 yards in total offense as well as provide protection and open holes for Holmes record setting season.

Moore was Millikin’s top tackler and finished the season second in the CCIW in tackles with 97 stops (62 solo). He had three tackles for a loss, two interceptions, four pass break-ups and one fumble recovery. He scored on a 66 yard fumble recovery.

To view the entire CCIW All-Conference Team to