Area Will be Well Represented at Cross Country Sectionals


Published on October 25 2018 7:00 am
Last Updated on October 25 2018 7:00 am
Written by Millie Lange

The area will be well represented in cross country sectional action this Saturday in both Class 1A and Class 2A.

Heading to the Class 1A Decatur St. Teresa Sectional will be six area boys teams and six girls teams along with a couple of single runners.

Heading to the sectional in girls action will be Effingham St. Anthony, Neoga, Teutopolis, Newton, Cumberland and Altamont along with one Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City runner. The race begins at 10 a.m.

In the boys race, teams from St. Anthony, Cumberland, Teutopolis, Neoga, Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City and Altamont will compete along with a Newton runner. The boys will run at 11 a.m.

In Class 2A, the Effingham High School girls team will be competing at the Decatur MacArthur Sectional. Start time for the girls is 10 a.m.

The top five teams and top seven individuals not members of qualifying teams will advance to the State Meets scheduled for Saturday, November 3 at Peoria's Detweiler Park. The Class 1A girls will run at 9 a.m. with the boys at 10 a.m. The Class 2A girls meet is at 11 a.m. Runners will go three miles at state. The awards ceremonies will take place at 11 a.m. for Class 1A boys and girls and at 1 p.m. for Class 2A boys and girls.


Class 1A Decatur St. Teresa Sectional

Saturday, Oct. 27

Girls 10 a.m.   Boys 11 a.m.


Teutopolis -- Morgan Mette, Jessica Runde, Kaitlyn Schumacher, Rebecca Habing, Abby Bloemer, Katie Kingery, Kylie Hoelscher

Neoga -- Emmalyn Walk, Kylee Phillips, Maggie Clark, Allison Kingery, Abbagayl Howald, Ellie Clark, Olivia Holt

St. Anthony -- Riley Guy, Sarah Carr, Audrey Niebrugge, Jessica Wilson, Katlyn  Zeller

Newton -- Abby Stone, Cora Buerster, Josie Grunloh, Lucy Yager, Brooklyn Herman, Alexis Bell, Claire Carr

Cumberland -- 1. Jasmyn Dittamore, Eve Brown, Leah Brown, Victoria Ault, Olivia Pruemer

Altamont -- Gia Sandoval, Mary Guse, JoAnna Schultz, Allyson Hardiek, Makayla Crow

Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City -- Haley Bartels


St. Anthony -- Brian Dust, Ty Wiedman, Kennan Walsh, Noah Tegeler, Mick Willenborg, Austin Raber

Cumberland -- Kort McClellan, Blake Sutherland, Rayce Zike, Logan Edwards, Michael Carpenter, Wiley Peters, Joel Heynen

Teutopolis -- Noah Probst, Ethan Weidner, Benjamin Kitten, Brody Mette, Kendall Tabbert, Cole Probst, Matthew Deters

Neoga -- Reece Johnson, Brayden Cox, Trever Roy, Nick Titus, Michael Dietz, Mitchell Cornell, Logan Dow

Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City -- Dylan Taylor, Matt Kelly, Gage Richards, Jason Baylis, Alec Edwards, Zach Burks, Chance Robertson

Altamont -- Derick Budde, Corey Jackson, Jared Ruffner, Denver Duckwitz, Byron Guthrie, Will Schultz

Newton -- Nick Zwilling


Class 1A Decatur St. Teresa Sectional

Saturday, Oct. 27

Girls 10 a.m.  Boys 11 a.m.


Effingham -- Miranda Fox, Kiley Weaver, Daelyn Dunston, Nicole Schneiderjon, Hope Monnet, Madison Tilford, Becca Webster