Area Runners Set for Sectional Action Saturday


Published on October 24 2012 8:28 am
Last Updated on October 29 2012 6:44 am
Written by Millie Lange

Effingham St. Anthony will play host to a Class 1A cross country sectional Saturday at Mid America Motorworks. The girls competition will begin at 10 a.m. with boys action starting at 11 a.m.

Teams entered in the girls meet are St. Anthony, Teutopolis, Newton, Neoga, Marshall, Olney, Litchfield, Robinson, St. Joseph-Ogden, Champaign St. Thomas, Tolono Unity, Urbana University High, Paxton-Buckley-Loda, Hoopeston Area, Schlarman Academy, Decatur St. Teresa, Monticello, Mount Zion, Carlinville, Sullivan and Maroa-Forsyth.

Individuals, not members of qualifying teams entered are, Morgan Powers (Shelbyville), Molly Yockey (Shelbyville), Elise Thomas (Mount Carmel), Andie Scherer (Lawrenceville), Hannah Garrels (Gillespie), Lucero Tennis (Mount Carmel), Katie Liberman (Lawrenceville), Cassidy Baugh (Chrisman), Morgan Wood (Hume Shiloh), Megan McLee (Chrisman),  Susan Powder (Tuscola), Nicole Mannen (Tuscola), Alivia Powers (Clinton), Raeann Huffman (Clinton) and Hannah Miles (Clinton).

Teams competing in the boys meet are St. Anthony, Teutopolis, Neoga, Robinson, Olney, Litchfield, Lawrenceville, Mount Carmel, Champaign St. Thomas More, St. Joseph-Ogden, Tolono Unity, Paxton-Buckley-Loda, Urbana University High, Oakwood, Tuscola, Mount Zion, Shelbyville, Monticello, Carlinville, Sullivan and Decatur St. Teresa.

Individuals, not members of qualifying teams competing are, Andrew Sharp (Altamont), Tye Sutherland (Cumberland), Garrett Rubsam (North Clay-Louisville), Ben Scamihorn (Marshall), Geoffrey Ray (Marshall), Jesse Holme (Schlarman Academy), Wyatt Avenatti (Chrisman), Josh Johnson (Hoopeston Area), Lane Avenatti (Chrisman), Tyler Owen (Chrisman), Jeffery Earnest (Arthur), Noah McClurg (Clinton), Tristan Smith (Argenta-Oreana), Anthony Hettinger (Arthur) and Tyler Hemmen (Argenta-Oreana).

Class 2A

Effingham has four runners competing in the boys sectional at the 2A Decatur MacArthur Sectional Saturday. The meet takes place at Hickory Point Golf Course with the girls meet at 10 a.m. and the boys meet at 11 a.m.

Effingham's Leighton Lark, Gary Damron, Patrick Siner and Leevi Baker will be competing as individuals. Also competing as individuals, not members of qualifying teams, are Alex Cranick (Highland), TJ Rodgers (Centralia), Deron Jimison (Cahokia), Cody Baughaus (Centralia), Brandon Beaver (Centralia), John Davis (Lincoln), Dewade Perkins (Springfield Southeast), Caleb Grant (Springfield Southeast), Jake Day (Lincoln) and Andrew Wibden (Lincoln).

Teams entered are Charleston, Champaign Central, Mattoon, Taylorville, Champaign Centennial, Danville, Mount Vernon, Carbondale, Troy Triad, Waterloo, Mascoutah, East St. Louis, Marion, Springfield, Chatham Glenwood, Springfield Sacred Heart-Griffin, Jerseyville, Decatur MacArthur, Jacksonville and Springfield Lanphier.