St. A, Teutopolis, Newton Head To Sectional


Published on October 22 2012 7:10 am
Last Updated on October 22 2012 7:10 am
Written by Millie Lange

OLNEY -- Effingham St. Anthony, Teutopolis and Newton advanced to sectional action as teams from the Class 1A Olney Cross Country Regionals Saturday.

In boys competition, Robinson won the team championship with 70 points followed by Olney 78, St. Anthony 90, Litchfield 128, Teutopolis 133, Lawrenceville 147, Mount Carmel 207, Marshall 219, Newton 231, Cumberland 246, North Clay (Louisville) 248 and Altamont 257.

The top seven teams and top five runners, not members of teams, advance to sectional action this coming Saturday. St. Anthony will host the sectional at Mid America Motorworks.

Robinson's Blake Hale won the meet with a time of 16:27. St. Anthony's Peter Keller followed in second place in 16:51 while Altamont's Andrew Sharp took third in 17:09. St. Anthony's Andrew Gardewine took fifth in 17:30.

Advancing for St. Anthony were Keller, Gardewine, Mack McWhorter 10th in 17:55, Jake Spraul 29th in 18:49, Matt Gibson 45th in 19:38, John Goeckner 48th in 19:54 and Drake McHugh 71st in 21:01.

Advancing for Teutopolis were Zach Mette 12th in 17:58, Lucas Probst 18th in 18:17, Jesse Miller 33rd in 18:53, Cody Heuerman 36th in 16:59, Nick Bierman 37th in 19:08, Riley Drees 41st in 19:22 and Logan Probst 43rd in 19:35.

Individuals advancing were Altamont's Sharp, Marshall's Ben Scamihorn, Cumberland's Tye Sutherland 17th in 18:11, North Clay's Garrett Rubsam 19th in 18:30 and Marshall's Geoffrey Ray 20th in 18:31.

In the girls' meet, Marshall won the team championship with 98 points followed by St. Anthony 131, Olney 135, Teutopolis 141, Litchfield 147, Robinson 153, Newton 159, Cumberland 159, Mount Carmel 173, Lawrenceville 197, Gillespie 204 and Altamont 230.

The top seven teams advance to the St. Anthony Sectional this coming Saturday. Advancing for the Bulldogs were Carson Fonner fifth in 20:47, Emmie Schultz 10th in 21:18,  Sarah Wortman 12th in 21:34, Claire Willenborg 43rd in 23:34, Barbara McGuire 59th in 24:37, Paige Oltman 72nd in 25:47 and Paige  Koester 75th in 26:14.

Advancing for Teutopolis were Megan Weichman 14th in 21:37, Emma Repking 26th in 22:50, Morgan Deters 28th in 22:53, Julie Waldhoff 30th in 22:57, Emily Weichman 43rd in 23:29, Kadi Borries 50th in 23:54 and Lauren Jansen 52nd in 24:03.

Advnacing for Newton were Lexi Davidson fourth in 20:39, Carly Niebrugge sixth in 20:48, Maddie Kinder 39th in 23:24,  Maddie Green 42nd in 23:28, Hannah Litzelman 68th in 25:27 and Natalie Woods 81st in 28:00.

Advancing individually Ellise Thomason (Mount Carmel), Andie Scherer (Lawrenceville), Hannah Garrels (Gillespie), Lucero Tennis (Mount Carmel) and Katie Liberman (Lawrenceville).

The St. Anthony Sectional will begin Saturday with the girls running at 10 a.m. followed by the boys meet at 11 a.m. The top five teams and top seven individuals, not members of qualifying teams, advance to the state meet at Detweiler Park Saturday, November 3.