Area Players Named to Decatur H&R All Area Teams


Published on April 19 2019 7:43 am
Last Updated on April 19 2019 7:43 am
Written by Millie Lange

The Decatur Herald & Review named its Coach of the Year, Player of the Year and All-Area Teams for boys basketball Friday.

Coach of the Year honors went to Rob Smith for the second straight year. Smith, who now coaches Moweaqua Central A&M, used to be the assistant boys basketball coach and head baseball coach in Teutopolis many years ago.

Smith guided A&M to a 33-4 record and to the Class 1A State Tournament where the Raiders finished third.

Smith won this same award last year with Cody Rincker of Effingham St. Anthony winning in 2017, Jeff Staser of Dieterich winning in 2015, Jason Hanson of Neoga winning in 2011 and Justin Roedl of Cumberland winning in 2010.

Player of the Year honors went to Shelbyville's Malcom Miller, The senior guard, averaged 27.4 points a game, 11.1 rebounds, 3.9 assists, 2.2 steals  and 1.3 blocks.

Area members of the First Team were Effingham's Landon Wolfe and Teutopolis' Dawson Smith.

Wolfe a senior guard/forward, averaged more than 26 points for the second straight year, had 6.9 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.3 steals a game for the Hearts.

Smith, a senior guard, connected on 18.4 points per game on 51 percent shooting, eight rebounds and five assists.

Other First Team members were Connor Heaton, junior guard from Central A&M and Griffin Andricks, junior forward from Central A&M.

Second Team members were T-town's Clint Weber, a senior forward who averaged 18.6 points on 62 percent shooting, seven rebounds and two blocks a game, Jacob Paradee, junior guard from Central A&M, Jermaine Hamiln, senior center from Lincoln, Carter  Sabol, junior forward from Nokomis and Jase Bergschneider, junior from Taylorville.

Third Team honors went to  Effingham St. Anthony's Jaccob Dust, a junior center; Cumberland's Zach Wolke, a senior forward; Altamont's Alek Biggs, a senior guard; Casey-Westfield's Luke Richards, a senior forward and Lincoln's Kaden Froebe, a junior guard.

Honorable Mention for area players went to Parker Wolfe (Effingham), Luke Ludwig (St. Anthony), Brennyn Cutts (Cumberland), Andy Goldsborough (St. Elmo/Brownstown), Collin Hartke (Dieterich), Aidan Jahraus (Altamont),  Reese Johnson (Neoga), Logan Lotz (South Central),  Keegan Martin (Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City), Jackson Miller (Windsor/Stewardson-Strasburg), Nate Philpot (St. Elmo/Brownstown), Bryton Pruett (St. Elmo/Brownstown), Aleon Rinehart (North Clay, Louisville), Trevor Roy (Neoga), Kyle Schafer (Newton) and Dylan Webster (Cowden-Herrick/Beecher City).