Landon Wolfe Makes Top 10 In Mr. Basketball, Fearday Gets Votes In Ms. Basketball


Published on March 28 2019 8:34 am
Last Updated on March 28 2019 8:34 am
Written by Millie Lange

Effingham High School senior Landon Wolfe garnered another honor.

Wolfe earned 12 points for Mr. Basketball which is Illinois' best high school basketball players as voted on by the state's basketball coaches and media. The players are presented by the Chicago Tribune in conjunction with the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association.

Garnering the Mr. Basketball honor was repeat winner EJ Liddell from Belleville West. He earned 506 points and 95 votes. He averaged 20.3 points and 9.3 rebounds for state champion Belleville West which finished the season with a 34-4 record. He will play college ball at Ohio State.

Players receive five points for a first place vote, three for second and one for third. Of the 144 ballots turned in, Liddell was named on 106 of those.

Following Liddell in the voting were Terrence Hargrove (East St. Louis), senior, 107 points, 2 votes; Adam Miller (Morgan Park), junior, 101 points, 3 votes; DaJuan Gordon (Curie), senior, 59 points, 3 votes; (tie) Rashaun Agee (Bogan, senior, 29 points and Marquise Kennedy (Brother Rice), senior, 29 points, 1 vote; (tie) Max Christie (Rolling Meadows), sophomore, 17 points, 1 vote; Markese Jacobs (Uplift), senior, 17 points; Terrion Murdix (Springfield Southeast), senior, 15 points, 2 votes and Wolfe.

Receiving one vote from this area was Malcom Miller from Shelbyville.

Ms. Basketball was also a repeat winner, Brea Beal of Rock Island. She finished with 322 points and received 51 first place votes. She actually has won three straight Ms. Basketball awards.

Beal averaged 26 points and 14 rebounds for a Rock Island team that finished the season wtih a 30-3 record. Beal, a 6-foot-1 guard, is headed to South Carolina

Receiving multiple votes was Effingham High School's Carsyn Fearday, a senior, who earned 10 points and had two votes.

Shae Littleford, a sophomore from Charleston, earned four points.

Other Top 10 were Anaya Peoples (Danville Schlarman), senior, 170 points, 3 votes; Angela Dugalic (Maine West), junior, 50 points, 6 votes; Tenley Dowell (Morton), senior, 42 points, 4 votes; Rachel Kent (Maine West), senior, 34 points, 3 votes; Annie Stritzel (Nazareth), senior, 33 points, 4 votes; Jordan King (Rockton Hononegah), senior, 31 points, 2 votes; Darrione Rogers (Lake Park), junior, 21 points, 1 vote; Sammi Matoush (Hillsboro), senior, 14 points and (tie) Halle Douglass (Lake Forest), junior, 11 points, 2 votes and Camryn Taylor (Peoria Richwoods), senior, 11 points