IBCA Girls All-Star Basketball Games Saturday


Published on June 18 2014 4:06 am
Last Updated on June 18 2014 4:06 am
Written by Millie Lange

The Illinois Basketball Coaches Association All-Star girls basketball games will be contested Saturday at Illinois Wesleyan University's Shirk Center.

The Class 1A/2A game will take place at 4 p.m. followed by the Class 3A/4A game at 6 p.m.

Effingham High School girls basketball coach Jeff Schafer will be assisting as coach for the Class 3A/4A South squad. Also coaching will be Jonathan Denney (Bethalto Civic Memorial) and his assistant Julianne Geen.

Members of the team include Effingham's Josie Zerrusen, Emily Halliday (Coal City), Laura Crane (Prairie Central), Kara Krolicki (Lincoln Way East), Megan Trost (Civic Memorial), Kylie Giebelhausen (East Peoria), Martha Burse (Bradley Bourbonnais), Aaliyah Covington (Edwardsville), Kennedy Martin (Edwardsville), Kortney Dunbar (Edwardsville), Anika Webster (Springfield) and Jaelyn Kenne (Jacksonville).

The 3A/4A North team will be coached by Ryan Kirkorsky of Rolling Meadows. Members of his squad include LaTondra Brooks (Oak Lawn Community), Kelly Karlis (Montini Catholic), Jensen Blassage (Rockford Boylan Catholic), Kateri Stone (Montini Catholic), Niki Lazar (Neuqua Valley), Malia Smith (Neuqua Valley), Najee Smith (Neuqua Valley), Hannah McGlone (Streamwood), Melinda Franke (Wheaton Warrensville South), Sam Andrews (Huntley), Casey McMahon (Stagg) and Chris Baird (Wheaton North).

Iin the Class 1A/2A contest, the South squad will be coached by Robert "Buzz" Sperry and his assistant Cliff Krueger, both of Springfield Lutheran. Members of the team include Ali Ringering (Red Bud), Ashley Ferrell (Harrisburg), Graci Bastert (Illini West), Kennedy Flesner (Maroa-Forsyth), Kendra Davis (Waterloo Gibault Catholic), Sidney Smith (Carterville), Kaydei Grooms (Marshall), Haley Darnell (Goreville), Erin Flesner (Camp Point Central), Madison Steinkamp (Camp Point Central), Lauren Moses (Hume Shiloh) and Morgan Atheron (Century).

Mick Kopriva of Riverdale will coach the North team. Team members include Rebekah Ehresman (Eli Paso-Gridley), Sydney Mericle (Riverdale), Haley Toohill (Clinton), Molly McGraw (Bloomington Central Catholic), Haley Ruestman (Fieldcrest), Dana Turner (Walther Christian), Brigi Walsh (Willows Academy), Kristen Parsons (Wethersfield), Kerrigan Dura (Brimfield), Madisyn Paxon (Stark County), Taylor Myroth (Peoria Christian), Hannah Wallace (Brimfield) and Jennifer Berg (Midwest Central).