Jason Heyward Awarded Fifth National League Gold Glove


Published on November 8 2017 7:05 am
Last Updated on November 10 2017 6:27 am

Chicago Cubs right fielder Jason Heyward tonight was named a 2017 National League Rawlings Gold Glove Award winner.

Heyward has won his fifth-career Rawlings Gold Glove Award, his fourth in a row and his second with the Cubs. In addition to last year, he previously won in 2012 and 2014 with the Atlanta Braves and in 2015 with the St. Louis Cardinals.

Heyward is the second outfielder in franchise history to win multiple gold gloves, joining two-time winner Andre Dawson (1987 and 1988). Bob Dernier (1984) is the only other Cubs outfielder to win the award. Additionally, Heyward is the first Cub to win a Rawlings Gold Glove Award at any position in consecutive seasons since pitcher Greg Maddux (2004-06) won three in a row and the first position player to do so since first baseman Mark Grace (1995 and 1996).

Nolan Arenado, Jason Heyward and Alex Gordon each won a fifth career Gold Glove Award on Tuesday night.

The prizes for defensive excellence were announced by Rawlings for the 60th time.

Arenado, the All-Star Colorado Rockies third baseman, joins Ichiro Suzuki as the only players to win at least five Gold Gloves to start their careers, according to the Elias Sports Bureau.

"Obviously, five, it's a pretty special number," Arenado said. "It means a lot. ... Right now I want to try to win as many as I can while I'm healthy."

The World Series champion Houston Astros and NL champion Los Angeles Dodgers were both shut out. Astros pitcher Dallas Keuchel had won the past three years. Meanwhile, the Twins were represented by two first-time winners in Buxton and Dozier.

"This is a special moment," Buxton said.

Barnhart, the first Reds catcher to win since Hall of Famer Johnny Bench in 1977, also became the second different catcher (the San Francisco Giants' Buster Posey won in 2016) to win in the NL in the past two years after the St. Louis Cardinals' Yadier Molina won eight straight at the position. Posey and Molina were again nominated this year.

"It's as good as it gets for me. I'm a defensive guy, and I take a lot of pride in that," Barnhart said. "I am taken aback by it, to be honest with you. . . . Buster and Yadi are obviously two of the best guys in baseball."

The Angels' Maldonado snapped Salvador Perez's four-year winning streak for AL catcher.

The "Best of the Best" honor -- voted on by fans --- will be unveiled Friday and will be given to one AL winner and one NL winner.

Additionally, Derek Jeter will be recognized with the Rawlings Heart of Gold Award and Reggie Jackson will be honored with its Lifetime Achievement Award. Omar Vizquel and Ivan Rodriguez will also be inducted into the Rawlings Gold Glove Award Hall of Fame.

This year's honorees feature 12 previous winners and six first-time winners:


    P Marcus Stroman, Toronto Blue Jays - 1st award

    C Martin Maldonado, Los Angeles Angels - 1st award

    1B Eric Hosmer, Kansas City Royals - 4th award

    2B Brian Dozier, Minnesota Twins - 1st award

    3B Evan Longoria, Tampa Bay Rays - 3rd award

    SS Andrelton Simmons, Los Angeles Angels - 3rd award

    LF Alex Gordon, Kansas City Royals - 5th award

    CF Byron Buxton, Minnesota Twins - 1st award

    RF Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox - 2nd award


    P Zack Greinke, Arizona Diamondbacks - 4th award

    C Tucker Barnhart, Cincinnati Reds - 1st award

    1B Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks - 3rd award

    2B DJ LeMahieu, Colorado Rockies - 2nd award

    3B Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies - 5th award

    SS Brandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants - 3rd award

    LF Marcell Ozuna, Miami Marlins - 1st award

    CF Ender Inciarte, Atlanta Braves - 2nd award

    RF Jason Heyward, Chicago Cubs - 5th award