- 979 XFM
- KJ Country
- Local News
- The Team
- Contact Us
- Listen Live!
Children First Classes
Children First Classes are scheduled at the Jasper County Health Department. This class is for any divorcing/separating couples who have minor children and is required by Illinois law. The purpose of the class is to help the parents understand the effects of the divorce/separation on their children and to reduce some of the negative consequences of this process. Children First Class is scheduled for morning hours Wednesday, December 12 and Thursday, December 13 from 8-10 a.m. each day with registration beginning Wednesday at 7:30 a.m. Cost of the classes are $75, due on the first day. Do not bring your children to this session.
Beginning in January, the class will be held one day a month for a four hour session. Again, it is recommended that participants would arrive a half hour early to register, pay the $75 fee and complete the appropriate paperwork. You are required to complete the entire four hour session to be certified for the class. Also, do not bring your children to this session.
The State of Illinois requires couples who have minor children, participate in a minimum of four hours of education regarding divorce/separation, its effects on the children and other related issues such as custody and visitation. Participants will need to attend both sessions to get credit for completion, couples should not be enrolled in the same group and there must be at least two signed up to hold the session. Instructors for the course will be Amy Deel-Hout, M.S., LCPC and Stacey Ping, M.S., LPC, NCC, QMHP.
You may pre-register or for more information, phone the Jasper County Health Department at 618-783-4154 or come to the office at 106 E. Edwards Street in Newton at least a half hour early on the first day of class. Classes are held monthly with the next classes January 16 (8 a.m.-noon), February 20 (3-7 p.m.), March 20 (8 a.m.-noon) and April 17 (3-7 p.m.)