President Approves Federal Funding for Tornado Damaged Counties


Published on November 27 2013 2:12 pm
Last Updated on December 3 2013 4:46 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

President Obama has now approved federal funding for 15 Illinois counties damaged in last week’s deadly tornado outbreak.

The disaster declaration allows uninsured property owners to get low-cost loans, provides grants for temporary housing, and helps businesses recover from the storm’s effects. Fayette and Jasper are among the 15 counties included in the disaster declaration.

Six people were killed when 24 tornadoes touched down across the state November 17. FEMA officials say damage surveys are continuing in other areas and more counties may get federal assistance.