Jasper Among Counties Declared Disaster Areas


Published on November 19 2013 2:20 pm
Last Updated on November 19 2013 2:23 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

Governor Pat Quinn today declared six more counties, including Jasper County, as state disaster areas following violent storms and tornadoes on Sunday that affected several regions of the state.

The declaration increases the number of declared counties to 13.  On Monday, the governor declared Champaign, Grundy, LaSalle, Massac, Tazewell, Washington and Woodford counties state disaster areas after a severe storm system ripped across Illinois, spawning at least two EF4 tornadoes.  Today, the governor added Jasper as well as Douglas, Pope, Wabash, Wayne and Will counties to the list.

The state disaster declaration makes available a wide variety of state resources that can help affected communities respond and recover from the storms.  The State of Illinois has personnel and assets that can be mobilized to help local government officials with disaster recovery, including such things as trucks, heavy equipment to remove debris, communications equipment and provide assistance with security and other public safety issues.

Governor Quinn also announced that volunteer efforts are well underway to assist the victims of Sunday's storms.  Financial donations to volunteer disaster response agencies are the best way to help.  Cash donations allow these agencies to purchase exactly what is needed, when it is needed. If materials are donated, they should only be those items specifically requested by officials, and these should be taken to officially designated collection centers.