Unit 40 Board Discusses Libraries, Parking Lots


Published on January 24 2023 3:46 pm
Last Updated on January 24 2023 3:46 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

Effingham Unit 40 school board members Monday discussed upgrading the library system in the district.

Superintendent Andy Johnson said the work will be a two-year project. The main work will take place at Central School, which could involve adding a wall to divide the library and a technology area. He said some work will take place in each district building such as painting, carpeting, furnishings; an effort to make things more attractive.

The Board also discussed School Resource Officer services through the Effingham City Police Department and what those services will cost in a new agreement, as well as what will be provided. The board reviewed information from the City. More discussion is expected.

There was discussion about parking lots at the Board offices, on the southeast corner of the Early Learning Center, and the southeast corner of South Side School including a staff parking lot. The work is projected to cost $850,000-$900,000 for all three projects. The figures are for concrete parking areas, but the Board asked for numbers on asphalt parking areas, as well.

The Board voted to approve a memorandum of agreement with the Effingham Classroom Teachers Association. The agreement modifies the early retirement incentive, which had required an employee having worked at least 15 years for the district. The change reduces the required number of years to five years. Johnson hopes it will make the district more attractive to those with experience to consider the district.

Board members also recognized junior high golfers, the junior high ECO Team, the top three finishers in the junior high spelling bee, and EHS' group of almost 20 Illinois State Scholars.

In personnel moves, the Unit 40 board hired Callie McMahon as an elementary art teacher at Central for next school year, Brittney Regenhardt Yvonne West and Samantha Eads Drake as elementary teachers for next school year, Katrina Eirhart to work in library and media at South Side for next school year, and Debra Wagy as a cafeteria monitor at the Early Learning Center.

Mendi Pals and Jackie Tabbert were transferred as math interventionists for next school year at the Early Learning center and South Side, respectively, and Bethany Parker and Laurie Bohnhoff were appointed, Parker as junior high track coach for this year and Bohnhoff as high school head volleyball coach for next school year.

Leaves were granted Dana Flowers, Amy Minor and Joshua Morton, resignations were approved from Michelle Stewart as a paraprofessional and Erica Warner as Board Office Secretary and Receptionist.

Retirements were approved for Karen Littleford, amending the previous date, and Rick Schmidt in maintenance. Maggie Carroll was terminated as a paraprofessional. 

Stormy Durkin and Justin Hayes were approved as volunteers; Durkin with the high school band and Hayes with the high school baseball team.