Soybean Association Chooses Leadership


Published on August 5 2022 9:08 am
Last Updated on August 5 2022 9:09 am

The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) elected new leadership during its July board meeting.

Steve Pitstick, District 2, was re-elected as the organization’s Chairman. Steve produces corn and soybeans near Maple Park, Ill. He holds an associate’s degree from Kishwaukee Community College and has been active previously with the Kane County Farmland Protection Commission, Kaneland Sports Boosters, Kane County Farm Bureau and his church. Pitstick also has participated in the Illinois Ag Leadership Program, Illinois Ag Leadership Foundation, Agriculture Leaders of Tomorrow and served as a Soy Ambassador. He currently also works as an advisor to startup ag tech companies.

“I look back on the last year and all that we’ve accomplished, and I’m proud to say we’ve made some measurable impacts,” says Pitstick. “From passage of critical legislation, the opening of the Lombard office, hosting the U.S. President on an Illinois soybean farm and more, I’m looking forward to serving Illinois soybean farmers for another term. We have an exciting future ahead.”

Other elected executive committee members include: Vice-Chairman Ron Kindred, Atlanta, Ill., Treasurer Bryan Severs, Potomac, Ill., Secretary Tim Scates, Carmi, Ill., and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Dwayne Anderson, Lynn Center, Ill. Joining the executive committee are Brad Daugherty, West Union, Ill., as Government Relations Committee chair, Brady Holst, Plymouth, Ill., as Utilization Committee chair, and Scott Gaffner, Greenville, Ill., as Market Development Committee chair.

ISA has a total board of 18 district directors and six at-large directors from throughout the state who work on behalf of Illinois soybean farmers and the checkoff. Each board member serves one of the following committees: Government Relations, Utilization, or Market Development. To learn more about becoming a board member for ISA, visit