Lincoln School Board Votes to Leave Apollo Conference


Published on May 19 2021 3:47 pm
Last Updated on May 19 2021 3:47 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

The Lincoln Board of Education has voted to leave the Apollo Conference.

The main consideration is travel. It's a more than 100-mile trip each way from Lincoln to Effingham, now the southernmost school in the conference.

The schedules are in place for the coming school year, but the change could come in one of the following two years.

While various reasons were given at the time Lincoln decided to switch to the Apollo, football seemed to be the ultimate reason. However, the Railers haven't fared much better in the Apollo than they had the Central States 8 Conference, to which they are returning.

Even without Lincoln, the Apollo still has six members, which is enough to qualify the conference champion for the football playoffs. 

The other schools besides Effingham remaining in the Apollo are Charleston, Mattoon, Mahomet-Seymour, Mt. Zion and Taylorville.