Teutopolis Sets End-of-Year Dates


Published on February 23 2021 1:29 pm
Last Updated on February 23 2021 1:29 pm
Written by Greg Sapp

The Teutopolis Board of Education Monday approved end-of-year dates.

High school graduation is set for Sunday, May 16, at 2:30pm, while junior high promotion will be held on Thursday, May 20, at 7:30pm. Building administrators will make arrangements for multiple settings--indoor traditional, outdoor distanced, and remote--pending additional pandemic allowances by the Illinois Department of Public Health and the Effingham County Health Department.

The Board also amended the school year calendar due to two recent snow days. The last student attendance date will be May 20, with a Teacher's Institute on May 21. Board members also reviewed a tentative calendar for next school year.

The Board hired Glass and Shuffett to do audit work of the past fiscal year; agreed to continue alternative education programs with the Regional Office of Education; authorized Superintendent Matt Sturgeon to start work on a budget for next year; and got a report on the State Board of Education culturally responsive teaching and leading standards.

The Board accepted the irrevocable letter of retirement from Carla Jansen as of the end of the 2024-2025 school year; accepted letters of resignation from Rich Niebrugge as junior high track coach as of January 22, from Jeffery Stewart as fulltime bus driver effective February 1, from Lexi Niemerg as volleyball volunteer effective January 26, and from Sullymar Rivera as part-time cook effective February 25.

The Board approved to hire Ciara Roepke as junior high volleyball coach effective January 20, Ciara Roepke as junior high track coach, Michael Buening as junior high track coach, and Andy Mersman as high school boys tennis coach.

Board members also agreed to re-employ District building principals for the 2021-2022 school year: Greg Beck as Teutopolis High School principal, Pat Drees as Teutopolis Junior High School principal, and Sherry Harmon as Teutopolis Grade School principal.