Governor Proposes Stiffening Penalties for Scott's Law Violations


Published on May 15 2019 10:12 am
Last Updated on May 15 2019 10:12 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Governor J.B. Pritzker and a bipartisan group of lawmakers want to sharpen the teeth of the state's move over law.

New legislation would stiffen fines for violators of the law that calls for motorists to change lanes when approaching any vehicle with their hazards or first responder vehicle with emergency lights on. The minimum fine would grow to $250 for a first violation of Scott’s Law and to $750 for additional violations. A $250 assessment fee would be tacked on for any violation of Scott’s Law and would be set aside for a new dedicated fund to produce driver education materials.

Governor Pritzker is optimistic the bill will sail to passage....

Three State Troopers have been killed in the line of duty while working on the shoulders of Illinois highways. Several more have been hit and injured.

Representatives of the Illinois Sheriffs Association were on the podium for the governor's announcement of the legislation. Association Executive Director Jim Kaitschuk said the proposed changes "are a great first step, but this is just the beginning of an overall effort to evaluate how to improve the safety of all on our roadways."

Some of the proposed changes besides the increase in fines:

--Damage to another vehicle is a Class A misdemeanor

--Causing injury or death to anyone is a Class 4 felony

--Causing death to emergency services personnel is a Class 2 felony

--Adds questions regarding Scott's Law to the driving exam

--Creates a "Move Over Task Force" that would provide recommendations to the General Assembly by January 1, 2020