Neoga Board Deals w/Personnel, Improvement Items


Published on April 12 2019 11:03 am
Last Updated on April 12 2019 11:59 am
Written by Greg Sapp

Neoga school board members Thursday took action on personnel matters and campus improvement items.

The Board accepted resignations from Mike Burton as a bus driver, Jamie Martin as the high school Cheer sponsor, and David Rousch as Band teacher. 

Two hirings were approved for the coming school year: Gabriella Durbin as a high school Social Studies teacher and Lieren Schutte as a junior high Science teacher. Also approved as Summer School teachers were Amy Westjohn, Elaine Brandenburg, Amy Kepp, Jamie Martin, Steve McCann, Cassandra Shaffer, Andrew Snow, and Mike Taylor.

The Board approved Kirk Hacker as summer groundskeeper. Superintendent Ben Johnson also shared a plan to add a Title teacher at the elementary school in lieu of the current Title Aide position, and to reassign the intervention/literacy coach to the junior high school.

Board member Gerald Hanfland presented information on the Neoga TIF District and its impact.

The Board approved Dave Roepke Painting's proposal to paint the junior/senior high school north gym, the ag shop, wood shop and portions of the elementary school exterior. Also approved was Allred Floor Service's proposal to sand and refinish the gym floor in the junior/senior high school south gym. It was also agreed to add a junior high softball program beginning this fall.